How do I?
Use the tabs above or the links below to navigate the guide.
- Identify patient & science-based sources
- Find Recommended Websites
- Use Library Databases
- Search Google Effectively
- Avoid Plagiarism
- Cite in APA
- Get Help
Top Library Databases for BIO/NAS medical research projects
Search these library databases for scholarly articles reporting original research, and for articles written for medical professionals.
If you're off-campus, when you click these links you'll get sent to a login screen, just like the one for Canvas.
- Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for a your topic & you'll get results organized by type of source (encyclopedias, news, academic journals, magazines, video, audio). - Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments. (VCCS) - CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature- EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The standard database for nursing and allied health. Search here for scholarly articles, case studies, evidence-based care plans, and more. - Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search here for scholarly articles as well as magazine articles and some newspapers. - DynaMed This link opens in a new windowA clinical reference tool for physicians and health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics. (NVCC)
How to use Academic Search Complete & the Biological Science Collection
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use place to search for scholarly (peer reviewed) articles. Go here to find out what researchers have discovered about a topic.
Note: Academic Search Complete can be accessed on the library's website under Research Databases. Click on All Databases (A-Z). Academic Search Complete is the second link. If you're off campus, you'll see a login screen. Log in to this database using your myNOVA user name and password.