Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Article Databases
- U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes U.S. History reference articles, periodical articles, images, and primary documents. (NVCC) - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC) - Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. (NVCC) - America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCitations, with full-text links to JSTOR. Provides abstracts of scholarly literature (journal articles, dissertations, book and media reviews) on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. (VIVA)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
smallpox AND washington AND army
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"continental army" AND smallpox
Use an asterisk ( * ) to find multiple endings of one word. Using adopt* as a search term will include results that refer to adopt, adopts, adopted, adopting, and adoption.
adopt*
Historical Newspaper Collections
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index (1851-2014) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images. (NVCC) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877-2001) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. (NVCC) - Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. (NVCC) - Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912 This link opens in a new windowAccess to an archive of Harper’s Weekly, the 19th century illustrated newspaper published from 1857 to 1912. NOVA has access to 1857-1877, which covers the Civil War through Reconstruction. (VIVA)
- Virginia Chronicle (Library of Virginia)Collections of newspapers from around Virginia; 1800s - 2013.