Skip to main content

ART101: History & Appreciation of Art I (Chen-AL): Magazine & Journal Articles

Direct comments to aanderson@nvcc.edu

Article Databases

 

The best way to locate magazine and scholarly journal articles is through library databases.

Why Use a Magazine, Journal or Newspaper Article?

Magazines, journals and newspapers:

  • Provide detailed information about a specific aspect of a topic.

  • Report on events, issues or scholarly research.

  • Are good sources for current or recent information, or new discoveries.

Magazines, journals and newspapers typically do NOT provide a summary or overview of a topic.

Where's the Rest of the Article?

Sometimes an article database, such as Art & Architecture Complete (EBSCO), only provides a citation for an article but not the complete text.   Or, you might find a useful sounding article listed in the "Sources Cited" section of a book or article. NOVA might have the complete text of the article in a different database, thoughClick here to learn how to find out.

 

Search Tips

Select the most important 2-4 words related to your topic.  Put the word AND between each new word or idea; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.

egypt AND sculpture


Use quotation marks ( "  " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words together, as a phrase.

"dancing girl" AND harappa AND culture


Use the asterisk (*) to truncate a word; this tells the database to look for all words that have the same base.  In the example below, search results would include "paint", "painting", "painter", etc...

cave AND paint*

.

If you don’t get enough articles, use the Advanced Search option to look for the most specific term in the complete text of the article (e.g., for the search lamassu AND Assyria*, look for lamassu in the complete text).

What Are Scholarly Journal Articles?

Articles from scholarly journals are often peer reviewed.

  • Before an article can be published in a peer reviewed journal, the journal requires that other scholars in the author's field (the author's peers) critically evaluate the article.
     
  • Peer review is a kind of quality control process used to help ensure that the article represents the best scholarship available. 

Learn more about finding scholarly/peer reviewed journal articles.