Skip to main content

ENG 111: College Composition I (ELI): Opposing Viewpoints

This guide will introduce you to useful resources for ENG 111 course assignments. If you have questions or comments, please contact Heather Blicher at

Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints is a great database to research for an argumentative essay. 

Use this database to understand different perspectives on controversial topics in both your academic and personal life. You log in to this database using your myNOVA user name and password.

If you haven't decided on your topic, click on "Browse Issues."

You will be directed to a list of "one-stop shopping" websites dedicated to a particular topic.  For example, "Minimum Wage" has viewpoint essays, academic journals, statistics, newspaper articles, reference materials, trustworthy websites, audio, and video.

Keep it Simple With a Keyword Search

Keyword Search:

For a more indepth explanation of searching, please click on the "Articles" tab above or here and go to the "Search Tips" box.

Select the most important 2-3 keywords. These are terms related to your topic. For instance, let's say your argument essay debates if global warming is affecting people in the tropics. Your keywords could be:

global warming, people, tropics


Opposing Viewpoints Citations

Citation Tool:

Each article within this database has a citation tool . Here is how you find it:

1. Click the link to the article.

2. In the right hand column, click the Citation Tools link.

image of Opposing Viewpoints database

3. Click the tab with the correct citation style for your course. ENG 111/ENF 3 uses MLA.

image of Opposing Viewpoints database

4. Copy and paste the citation into your document or export it to a bibliographic management software program using the links to the right. Remember to check the citation for errors after you have copied it. 

image of Opposing Viewpoints database