Books
English Vocabulary for Beginning ESL Learners by
The go-to guide for learning and reinforcing American English vocabulary for beginning ESL learners--now enhanced with audio recordings through the McGraw Hill Language Lab app Now enhanced with audio recordings of exercise answers through the McGraw Hill Language Lab app, this bestselling guide to learning ESL is more helpful than ever. Based on tried-and-true method, Practice Makes Perfect: English Vocabulary for Beginning ESL Learners helps you develop your vocabulary and comprehension skills with practice in word building, analyzing new words, and using them in conversation. Chapters are built around themes, such as nouns to name people and verbs for household activities, to help build a comprehensive foundation. More than 200 practice exercises from old and new vocabulary help you practice as you learn. Subjects included in this guide include names for people, places, and things; adjectives that describe people; verbs for household activities; how to ask questions; verbs used for shopping; how to give directions, social networking vocabulary; and more. Boost your English language proficiency with Practice Makes Perfect: English Vocabulary for Beginning ESL Learners, Premium Fourth Edition, featuring: Practical and high-frequency vocabulary Example sentences that illustrate and clarify each point More than 200 exercises to practice using English in everyday situations Answer key for reference and quick feedback NEW in this edition: Audio recordings of exercise answers through the McGraw Hill Language Lab app
Call Number: PE1128 .Y35 2022Publication Date: 2022
Vocabulary and Spelling Success: Con Instrucciones en Espanol by
In Spanish: This book is part of the Success in 20 minutes a Day series, a proven program, now revamped, with an eye-catching, modern design and updates throughout. This invaluable skill-building guide features: a pretest, pinpointing strengths and weaknesses - hundreds of exercises in test format for essential practice, including lessons on definitions, spelling, parts of speech, prefixes, suffixes, and more - a posttest to reveal progress - additional resources and tips on preparing for important tests
Call Number: PE1129.S8 M4 2001
For Your Information: Reading and Vocabulary Skills by
The new edition of For Your Information 1: Reading and Vocabulary Skills, by Karen Blanchard and Christine Root, helps beginning students become engaged, thoughtful, and confident readers of English. Each thematic unit features high-interest readings and an assortment of activities to increase students' vocabulary base and build reading skills. nbsp; Features of For Your Information 1, Second Edition: New and updated reading selections motivate students to explore different aspects of each topic and develop a range of critical thinking skills. Expanded reading comprehension and skill-building exercises help prepare students for academic competency and standardized testing A variety of new vocabulary-building skills and word-attack activities increase students' vocabulary. A companion DVD of ABC News excerpts, with accompanying activities, expands on the themes. To order the Audio CDs, click on the Resources link on the left side of this page.
Call Number: PE1128 .B586 2007
eBooks & Audiobooks
Check Your English Vocabulary for TOEFL by
This workbook provides exercises to help teach and build the English vocabulary needed for the popular TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) examination.
Publication Date: 2009 (eBook)
Easy English Vocabulary by
"Master all of the words and phrases you need to know to get by in everyday English conversation. earn on the go with this audio-only course. o reading or writing necessary. asy English Vocabulary includes: Eleven lessons on two CDs Useful topics like Computers and the Internet, Shopping and Money, and Law and Government Realistic conversations, easy definitions, and lots of examples Three bonus audio lessons online Online glossary with all of the words and definitions asy English Vocabulary is a basic/intermediate ESL program for speakers of any language."
Publication Date: 2009 (Audiobook)
Dictionaries
Longman Dictionary of American English 5 Paper and Online (HE) by
The new edition of this best-selling dictionary helps intermediate students improve their writing with the new Collocations feature and offers extra support for those studying other subjects in English. The integrated Thesaurus helps students build their vocabulary. The online dictionary includes innovative functionality to facilitate customizable teaching and learning, and a wealth of customizable practice so that users focus on the words that they want to learn. Students preparing for SATs & TOEFL® can also practice their exam skills using the interactive exercises.
Call Number: PE1628 .L576 2014Publication Date: 2014
Everyday American English Dictionary by
This simplified dictionary for learners of English, which has sold more than 100,000 copies in its previous edition, provides easy access to a basic vocabulary of 5,500 everyday English words. Entries have clear, simple, easy-to-understand definitions and include pronunciations and parts of speech.
Call Number: PE2835 .E86 2001
Longman Advanced American Dictionary by
English language -- United States -- Dictionaries; Americanisms -- Dictionaries
Call Number: PE2835 .L593x
