Recommended Article Databases
Use the databases listed below to find articles on the organisms you've selected.
Because scholarly articles tend to focus on a very specific aspect of a topic, these articles will likely be best for finding more detailed information on unique characteristics.
If you only want to find scholarly journal articles, be sure to check a box titled "refereed" or "scholarly" or "peer reviewed" journals.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA) - Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection provides full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It includes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases. This collection is a part of the SciTech Premium Collection. SciTech Premium > Natural Science Collection > Biological Science Collection. (VIVA) - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes e-books, encyclopedias and journal articles in the Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health and Social Sciences & Humanities fields. After doing your search, you can limit your results to just books, reference, or journals. (VIVA)
Reading Scholarly Journal Articles
- How to (Seriously) Read a Scientific PaperInsight and advice from graduate school professors and students (from Science magazine)
- Reading Strategies for Scholarly ArticlesTutorial, with narration and subtitles. (from Seminole State)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 ideas related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new word or idea; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
bear AND hibernation
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words).
"Ursus arctos" AND hibernation
Use the asterisk (*) to truncate a word; this tells the database to look for all words that have the same base. In the example below, search results would include hibernate, hibernates, hibernating, hibernation, etc.
"Ursus arctos"AND hibernat*