Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Article Databases: Best Bets
The best way to locate articles is through library databases. Use your myNOVA username/password for off-campus access.
- CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature- EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Over 1400 full text journals representing many medical disciplines. The most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature. Search options include peer-reviewed journal articles, evidence-based care plans, quick lessons, patient teaching materials, case studies, continuing education units (CEU), and more. (VCCS)
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Offers full text peer-reviewed nursing and allied health journals, magazines, and newsletters, and multimedia resources such as audio files and videos of medical procedures and live surgeries. (NVCC)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- PubMed This link opens in a new window The world’s pre-eminent health sciences database. A free resource that allows you to search millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. (VIVA)
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Over 400 peer-reviewed, full text journals representing many medical disciplines; strong coverage of nursing and allied health. Includes Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary and Lexi-PALS Drug Guide, a collection of drug patient education sheets. (VIVA)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Additional Databases for DMS Articles
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Includes e-books, encyclopedias and journal articles in the Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health and Social Sciences & Humanities fields. After doing your search, you can limit your results to just books, reference, or journals. (VIVA)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Full-text journals and eBooks, with a specific focus on SciTech and Engineering. This resource will search the entire SciTech Premium Collection. (VIVA).
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Over 1400 full text journals covering a variety of subject areas. Note: NOVA subscribes only to the Journals portion; other parts (such as Online Books and Reference Works) will display summaries and tables of contents only. (VIVA)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
sonography AND stomach cancer
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
sonography AND "stomach cancer"
Use an asterisk ( * ) to find multiple endings of one word. Using sonogra as a search term will include results that refer to sonography, sonographer, sonogram.
sonogra*