Online Encyclopedia Articles
From off campus you will be asked to log in with your MyNova username and password.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes articles on capital punishment, criminal investigation, forensic science, psychopaths, sociopaths, and gun control. - Salem Press History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Has an article on "urbanization" in the 1950s. Also has information about U.S. states. - AtoZ: The USA This link opens in a new windowA wealth of reference information about all fifty U.S. states. Includes information about demographics, crime, the economy, history, maps and more. (NVCC)
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 reference books on a variety of topics, including:
forensic science, forensic evidence, forensic investigation, crime AND america, murder AND america, kansas, kansas AND capital punishment
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in AmericaSelect the dates you need from the "Choose a Volume" dropdown menu.
- Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout world history; from encyclopedias and news articles. (NVCC) - Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Full-text biographies and critical analyses of writers and their work from a variety of periods and disciplines. (VIVA)
Print Encyclopedias in the Library
The encyclopedias listed below are located in the library, in the short bookshelves.
- Postwar America (REF 169.12 .P654) - articles on "Crime" and "Rural America"
- Crime and Punishment around the World: The Americas (REF HV6025 .C7115 2010)
- Encyclopedia of Police Science (REF HV7901 .E53 2007)
- American Decades: 1950-1959 (REF E169.12 .A419)
- Look up “Crime” in the index
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America (REF E169.1 .G7553 2009)
- Encyclopedia of American Social History, Volume 2 (REF HN57 .E58 1993)
- Rural Life in the West (pp. 1235-1248), Village and Town (pp. 1249-1258), Great Plains (1001-1015)
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Culture: Great Plains (REF E169.1 .G7554 2004)
Why to Use Encyclopedias
An encyclopedia is a type of reference book. Use a reference book to:
- Define important vocabulary words related to your topic,
- Find a basic overview and main issues related to your topic,
- Find references to additional resources, and
- Discover important background information related to your topic.