Skip to main content

ITE 115: Intro to Computer Applications and Concepts (Online): Articles

This online guide will provide you with useful resources for your ITE 115 course. If you have questions or comments, please contact ELI-Library@nvcc.edu

Article Databases

Here are a few databases you can find articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals.

For even more databases to search, go to http://libguides.nvcc.edu/databasesbysubject and look under the category Information Technology (ITD, ITE, ITN, ITP) to find a list of relevant databases.

 NOTE: Remember that you will have to login with your myNOVA username and password (the same ones you use to access Blackboard, student email, etc.).

Why can't I just use Google?

This video by Yavapai College Library in Prescott, Arizona demonstrates the different types of information found in Google versus library databases. 

Click the  icon located in the bottom right corner to watch the video in fullscreen mode.

Searching Library Databases

Search Tips

Select the most important 2-4 words related to your topic.  Put the word AND between each new word or idea; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.

affordable care act AND seniors


Use quotation marks ( "  " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in a specific way.

"affordable care act" AND seniors


Use the asterisk (*) to truncate a word; this tells the database to look for all words that have the same base.  In the example below, search results would include "senior" and "seniors."

"affordable care act" AND senior*