Search the Library Catalog
Sample Searches
| absolutism AND relativism |
Use AND between two or more terms to find materials with allthe concepts. Searching for absolutism AND relativism will only include books that have both absolutism and relativism in their contents.
|
| deontology OR deontological ethics |
Use OR between similar concepts. Searching for deontologyOR deontological ethics will find books that refer to either term.
|
| "Greatest happiness principle" |
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around specific phrases such as "Greatest happiness principle" to find the words in that specific order.
|
eBooks
Here are a few places you can find eBooks, just remember that you will have to login with your myNOVA username and password (the same ones you use to access Canvas, student email, etc.). More information on downloading eBooks.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBooks curated by NOVA librarians on a variety of different subjects. eBooks can be accessed in the browser or downloaded for offline use. (NVCC) - Infobase Publishing eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBooks on literary criticism, poets, dramatists, novelists, short story writers, period studies and current issues. Browse over 400 titles or search across the entire collection. (NVCC) - Oxford Scholarship Online eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online offers full-text access to scholarly works from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, science, medicine, and law. Select "Unlocked" and "Free" to view the full-text books. (VIVA)
eBooks (Open Web)
These websites provide access to books/works in the public domain (copyright-free and available to all). They include many classic philosophy works by Plato, Aristotle, Descartes, and more.
- Bartleby.com Access fiction, non-fiction, verse poetry, and reference works.
- Early Modern Texts"Versions of some classics of early modern philosophy, and a few from the 19th century, prepared with a view to making them easier to read while leaving intact the main arguments, doctrines, and lines of thought."
- DavidHume.org"Aims to provide a free and open access collection of almost everything written by . . . David Hume, alongside bibliographies and links to Hume scholarship on the web."
- Perseus Digital LibraryCovers the history and literature of the Greco-Roman world. English and Greek editions of works by Aristotle and Plato are among the items of interest for philosophers.