Skip to main content

PHI 220: Ethics (220): Religion & Philosophy Collection Database

This guide will introduce you to useful resources for PHI 220 course assignments. If you have questions or comments, please contact Heather Blicher at hblicher@nvcc.edu.

Religion & Philosophy Collection Database

Religion & Philosophy Collection Database logo

Keep it Simple With a Keyword Search

Keyword Search:

For a more indepth explanation of searching, please click on the "Articles" tab above or here and go to the "Search Tips" box.

Select the most important 2-3 keywords. These are terms related to your topic. For instance, let's say your topic is the meaning of Kant's thoughts on deontological ethics. Your keywords could be:

Kant, "deontological ethics"

search for Kant AND "deontological ethics" in the Religion and Philosophy Collection database

 

Citing Articles in Religion & Philosophy Collection

Citation Tool:

Each article within this database has a citation tool . Here is how you find it:

1. Click the link to the article.

2. In the right hand column, click the Cite link.

image of Academic Search Complete database

3. Scroll down in the Citation Format box to select the correct citation style for your course. ENG 111 uses MLA.

image of Academic Search Complete database

4. Copy and paste the citation into your document or export it to a bibliographic management software program using the link located at the bottom of the Citation Format box. Remember to check the citation for errors after you have copied it. 

image of Academic Search Complete database