Skip to main content

Teaching Resources: Add Library Resource to Canvas

This guide was created by librarians to support faculty in their teaching. Direct comments to LibraryWeb@nvcc.edu

Add a Link to a Library Resource in Canvas

Add a permanent link to a library resource (book, eBook, article, streaming video, or database) in Canvas that your students can access both on or off campus. Choose your library resource and follow the instructions below.

NOTE: If you cannot locate the permalink, instructions to convert the library resource URL to a persistent link and other exceptions can be found at Library Resource Permalinks.

Library Resource

Add a Link to a Book in Canvas:

1. Perform a search in the library catalog below and locate the eBook you want to add.

Search Library Catalog for books, eBooks, DVDs & streaming video.

 

  

Advanced Search | My Account

 

2. Click on the image or title of the book to view the full record and select the permalink icon.

3. Use the copied link to create the book link in Canvas. This URL has a built-in code that will allow off-campus access.

  • In the Course Module, click + to add a new item
  • Use the drop-down box to select Add External URL
  • Paste the copied URL from book record
  • Add a page name 
  • Check the box to 'Load in a new tab'
  • Click Add Item to save

Add a Link to an eBook in Canvas:

1. Perform a search in the library catalog below and locate the eBook you want to add.

Search Library Catalog for books, eBooks, DVDs & streaming video.

 

  

Advanced Search | My Account

2. Click on the image or title of the eBook to view the full record and select the Online access link.

3. From the database eBook record, select the permalink icon () from the toolbar menu, i.e. Ebsco databases, or the 'Share Link to Book' icon   (), i.e. Proquest databases.

NOTE: If you cannot locate the permalink, instructions to convert the eBook URL to a persistent link and other exceptions can be found at Library Resource Permalinks.

4. Use the copied link to create the eBook link in Canvas. This URL has a built-in code that will allow off-campus access.

  • In the Course Module, click + to add a new item
  • Use the drop-down box to select Add External URL
  • Paste the copied URL from the eBook record
  • Add a page name 
  • Check the box to choose to load in a new tab
  • Click Add Item to save

Add a Link to an Article in Canvas:

1. Perform a search in the library databases [Databases by Subject or Databases A-Z] and locate the article you want to add.

2.  Click on the article title to view the full record and select the permalink icon [ from the toolbar menu, i.e. Ebsco databases, the bookmark icon [ ] , i.e. Gale databases, or select Details to view the Document URL, i.e. ProQuest databases.

NOTE: If you cannot locate the permalink, instructions to convert the article URL to a persistent link and other exceptions can be found at Library Resource Permalinks.

3. Use the copied link to create the article link in Canvas. This URL has a built-in code that will allow off-campus access.

  • In the Course Module, click + to add a new item
  • Use the drop-down box to select Add External URL
  • Paste the copied URL from the article record
  • Add a page name 
  • Check the box to choose to load in a new tab
  • Click Add Item to save

Add a Link or Embed a Streaming Video in Canvas:

1. Perform a search in the library catalog below and locate the video you want to add. You can also search directly in a streaming video database.

Search Library Catalog for books, eBooks, DVDs & streaming video.

 

  

Advanced Search | My Account

2.  Click on the video image or title to view the full record and select the embed/link icon [ ], i.e. Films on Demand and Alexander Street, or the share icon [  ] to share the link or embed, i.e. Kanopy.

NOTE: If you cannot locate the permalink or embed functions, please contact your Campus Library for assistance.

3. Use the copied link to create the video link in Canvas. This URL has a built-in code that will allow off-campus access.

  • In the Course Module, click + to add a new item
  • Use the drop-down box to select Add External URL
  • Paste the copied URL from the article record
  • Add a page name 
  • Check the box to choose to load in a new tab
  • Click Add Item to save

4. Use the copied embed code to embed the video in Canvas.

  • In the Course Module, click the Pages link
  • To select a page from the Pages Index, click the View All Pages button and click the title of the page you want to open
  • Click the Edit button
  • Click the HTML Editor link
  • Paste the copied embed code from the video record
  • Click Save

Add a Link to a Database in Canvas:

1. Navigate to Databases by Subject or Databases A-Z and locate the database you want to add.

2. Right Click on the name of the database and select:

  • "Copy Link Address" in Chrome
  • "Copy Shortcut" in Internet Explorer
  • "Copy Link Location" in Firefox
  • "Copy Link" in Safari

3. Use the copied link to create the database link in Canvas. This URL has a built-in code that will allow off-campus access.

  • In the Course Module, click + to add a new item
  • Use the drop-down box to select Add External URL
  • Paste the copied URL from the database
  • Add a page name 
  • Check the box to choose to load in a new tab
  • Click Add Item to save
Loading ...