Article Databases
Here are a few databases you can find articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals.
NOTE: Remember that you will have to login with your myNOVA username and password (the same ones you use to access student email).
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It includes indexing, abstracts, and full text for academic journals, professional publications, and reference sources. Subject areas include engineering, computer theory & systems, new technologies, and social and professional context. (VIVA) - Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA) - Computer Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly 300 full-text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. (NVCC)
How to use Academic Search Complete
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
If you're off campus, you'll see a login screen. Log in to this database using your myNOVA user name and password.
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-4 words related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new word or idea; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
affordable care act AND seniors
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in a specific way.
"affordable care act" AND seniors
Use the asterisk (*) to truncate a word; this tells the database to look for all words that have the same base. In the example below, search results would include "senior" and "seniors."
"affordable care act" AND senior*
Quick citation tool
Citation Tool:
Each article within this database has a citation tool . Here is how you find it:
1. Click the link to the article.
2. In the right hand column, click the Cite link.
3. Scroll down in the Citation Format box to select the correct citation style for your course. Most NOVA courses use either MLA or APA.
4. Copy and paste the citation into your document or export it to a bibliographic management software program using the link located at the bottom of the Citation Format box. Remember to check the citation for errors after you have copied it.
