Articles
Use library databases to find articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and more.
Search using the most important words related to your topic, instead of entering full sentences or questions. Notice synonyms or subject terms that you may use to continue searching for more information.
Look for options to email and cite articles.
Go to: Databases by Subject and see English (ENG) or Careers/Student Development (SDV) to find a list of relevant databases, or use links to these recommended databases:
- Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new windowIncludes information on job and industry profiles, job-hunting and workplace skills, career and industry resources, and college planning and financial aid. (NVCC)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA) - ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
How to Find the Full Text of an Article in Library Databases
When searching in the library databases:
1) Look for a link that says Full Text, Full Text PDF, or Full Text HTML. This will bring up the complete article, and you can usually print it, email it, or download it.
2) If there is no Full Text link, look for a link that says LincIt or Link to Full Text. If the full text of the article is available in a different database, it will take you there automatically.
3) If you do not see any of the above, try to find the full-text article by using the citation.