Encyclopedias & Reference
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) includes full-text encyclopedias, handbooks, and other sources for multidisciplinary research. (VIVA, NVCC) - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowMore than 100 Oxford University Press dictionaries and reference books. (VIVA)
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowFully-searchable collection of authoritative encyclopedia articles. (NVCC)
- Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout world history; from encyclopedias and news articles. For information from encyclopedias, select BIOGRAPHIES in your list of results. - Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowOver 8,000 articles by top scholars that focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American history and culture. Also includes images and primary sources. (NVCC)
- Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new windowA collection of reference articles on pop culture in America in the 20th century. Browse by decade. (NVCC)
- Oxford Art Online - Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window30,000 signed articles and images on visual arts, over 6,000 subject entries and 20,000 biographies, and 7,000 searchable images. This resource also includes the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. (NVCC)
- U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
For encyclopedia articles, look for REFERENCE articles.
Why to Use Reference Books
|
An encyclopedia is a type of reference book. Use a reference book to:
|