Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Databases
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to Databases by Subject and look under the categories English (ENG), Administration of Justice & Paralegal (ADJ, LGL) and/or History (HIS) to find a list of relevant databases. You can also perform a search in the databases below.
Remember not to type sentences in the search box. Search by keyword, person of interest/victim, time period, or event.
Look for additional keywords or subjects offered. Also make sure you look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
Log in with your MyNOVA username and password when prompted.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowBiographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout world history; from encyclopedias and news articles. (NVCC)
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 reference books on a variety of topics. (NVCC)
- Criminal Justice eBooks (Gale eBooks) This link opens in a new windowArticles from criminal justice encyclopedias. (VCCS)
- Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowU.S. and international newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts. (VIVA)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index (1851-2014) This link opens in a new windowProvides first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images. (NVCC)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877-2001) This link opens in a new windowProvides first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. (NVCC)
- ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
- Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowScience topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments. (VCCS)
- U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowIncludes U.S. History reference articles, periodical articles, images, and primary documents. (NVCC)
- World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowIncludes world history reference articles, periodical articles, historical maps, primary documents, audio and video. (NVCC)
Why can't I just use Google?
This video by Yavapai College Library in Prescott, Arizona demonstrates the different types of information found in Google versus library databases.
Click the 
icon located in the bottom right corner to watch the video in fullscreen mode.