Formatting Keywords
When typing words into database search boxes, you want to be as precise as possible. Think of talking to a database as talking to a two-year-old. Just like a two-year-old, the database needs explicit instructions.
To best accomplish this, there are some key conventions to use when searching in databases:
(1) Nest related terms in parenthesis, using "OR" between them. This tells the database to look for any of those terms
ex. ("Covid 19" or coronavirus or pandemic)
(2) Put phrases (search terms of more than one word) in quotation marks. This tells the database to look for that exact phrase.
ex. ("amusement parks" OR "movie theaters" OR concerts)
(3) Link nested sets of related terms with AND. This tells the database to look for sources that have at least one term from each set.
ex. ("Covid 19" or coronavirus or pandemic) AND ("amusement parks" OR "movie theaters" OR concerts)
Locating Articles
Listed below are some general and some subject-specific databases. You may also go to our NOVA Libraries homepage and look under Databases by Subject to find a listing of subject specific databases.
Remember not to write sentences in the search box. Review the information below for information on formatting your searches.
Article Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA) - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals. (NVCC) - Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles related to communication and mass media studies. (VIVA) - Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on controversial issues in the news. (VCCS)
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS) - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and full-text journal articles. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. (VIVA) - Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals, magazines and newspapers that are business oriented, company reports, industry reports and country reports. (VIVA)
While some of the above include newspaper articles, the below databases are particularly helpful for locating this type of source:
- Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts. (VIVA) - ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search the most recent global news content, as well as archives stretching back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Large collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. (NVCC)
Creating Your Search Statements
Once you have your research question or research topic, what strategies should you use to get the most relevant results in the shortest amount of time?
