Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Search the Library Catalog
Top Databases for Film Research
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes 300 of the world's academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present. In addition to the indexing, this resource provides full-text access to many of it's journals. (NVCC)
- EBSCOhost – All Databases This link opens in a new windowThe main EBSCOhost landing page to browse or search multiple EBSCOhost databases at the same time.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
Database Search Tips
Magazine, newspaper, and journal articles focus on a specific aspect of a topic, so what you type into the search box should also be specific.
Use your research question or topic sentences as a starting point to identify keywords and concepts:
How is editing used in Battleship Potemkin (1925) to create montage and juxtaposition, and how has this influenced later films?
| Type AND between each concept | Battleship Potemkin AND editing |
| Use "quotation marks" around phrases | "Battleship Potemkin" AND editing |
| Use an asterisk (*) to get words with multiple endings (influen* will find articles with influence, influences, influencing, influenced, and influential) |
"Battleship Potemkin" AND influen* |
| Use related terms and synonyms | Battleship Potemkin AND (edit* OR montage OR juxtaposition) |
In your list of results, use FILTERS/LIMITERS:
- Full Text - click the full text box so that all your results will have the entire article available for you to read
- Source Type - select magazines or academic/scholarly journals