Understanding Comics by Scott McCloudThe bestselling international classic on storytelling and visual communication "You must read this book." -- Neil Gaiman Praised throughout the cartoon industry by such luminaries as Art Spiegelman, Matt Groening, and Will Eisner, Scott McCloud's Understanding Comics is a seminal examination of comics art: its rich history, surprising technical components, and major cultural significance. Explore the secret world between the panels, through the lines, and within the hidden symbols of a powerful but misunderstood art form.
Call Number: PN6710 .M335 1994
Publication Date: 1994-04-27
Making Comics by Scott McCLOUD"Magnificent! The best how-to manual ever published." -- Kevin Kelly, Cool Tools Scott McCloud tore down the wall between high and low culture in 1993 with Understanding Comics, a massive comic book about comics, linking the medium to such diverse fields as media theory, movie criticism, and web design. In Reinventing Comics, McCloud took this to the next level, charting twelve different revolutions in how comics are generated, read, and perceived today. Now, in Making Comics, McCloud focuses his analysis on the art form itself, exploring the creation of comics, from the broadest principles to the sharpest details (like how to accentuate a character's facial muscles in order to form the emotion of disgust rather than the emotion of surprise.) And he does all of it in his inimitable voice and through his cartoon stand-in narrator, mixing dry humor and legitimate instruction. McCloud shows his reader how to master the human condition through word and image in a brilliantly minimalistic way. Both comic book devotees and the uninitiated will marvel at this journey into a once-underappreciated art form.
Call Number: PN6710 .M3325 2006
Publication Date: 2006-09-05
The Insider's Guide to Creating Comics and Graphic Novels by Andy SchmidtFrom the creative minds behind your favorite modern-day comics ... In this unprecedented, behind-the-scenes guide, former Marvel editor and current IDW senior editor Andy Schmidt and his superstar industry friends give you the inside track on creating engaging, professional-looking comic books. Written for upcoming creative stars and comic book enthusiasts, The Insider's Guide to Comics and Graphic Novels covers the entire creative process from beginning to end, from fine-tuning a script to the nuances of camera angles, costume design and lettering. You'll learn not only how to emulate a camera pan, hit 'em with a splash page and shift into slow motion, but also WHEN and WHY to dip into that bag of graphic tricks for maximum impact. The real-world guide to creating great comics! Profiles and insights from John Romita, Jr., Neal Adams, Gene Ha, David Finch and John Byrne Professional advice from top talents in the business, including writers Brian Michael Bendis, Geoff Johns and Tom DeFalco; inkers Klaus Janson, Karl Kesel and Mike Perkins; colorist Chris Sotomayor; and letterer Chris Eliopoulos Expert instruction on every element of the creative process - writing, drawing, inking, coloring, page layout and scene design - and how they all work together
Call Number: PN6710 .S34 2009
Publication Date: 2009-02-13
Creating a Graphic Novel by Nat Gertler; Steve LieberWhat do the movies Men In Black, The Road to Perdition, Ghost World, and X-Menall have in common? Each started out as a graphic novel - one of the fastest growing and most exciting-to-watch segments of the book publishing industry. Just as many prose readers are inspired to become novelists, so too are many graphic novel readers inspired to create graphic novels of their own. And now, with The Complete Idiot's Guide to Creating a Graphic Novel- the first book to provide a comprehensive and detailed look at the process involved - they can. Authored and illustrated by two award-winning graphic novelists, The Complete Idiot's Guide to Creating a Graphic Novelprovides never-before-published information and insights for the aspiring graphic novelist.
Call Number: PN6710 .G45 2004
Publication Date: 2004-07-06
Graphic Storytelling by Will EisnerA companion to Comic & Sequential Art: the principles examined in that title are applied to the process of graphic storytelling. Eisner shows artists, film-makers, writers and designers how to craft stories in a visual medium.
Call Number: PN6710 .E57 1996
Publication Date: 2001-08-15
The Storyboard Artist by Giuseppe CristianoA visual and straightforward manual describing the various aspects of the storyboarding profession. Includes tips and advice from a working professional with expertise in film, television, and advertising.
Call Number: NC1002 .S85 C74 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Don Bluth's Art of Storyboard by Don Bluth; Gary GoldmanFrom Don Bluth - master animator, artist and director of such cartoon classics as The Secret of N.I.M.H., An American Tail, The Land Before Time, All Dogs Go to Heaven, Anastasia and Titan A.E. - comes Don Bluth's The Art of Storyboard, a one-of-a-kind textbook that describes in detail the technical and artistic processes involved in crafting storyboards for animated films, the visual blueprints that lay the foundation for the animators magic.
Call Number: NC1002 .S85 B59 2004
Publication Date: 2004-11-30
Foundation Course Cartooning by John Richardson"Foundation Course Cartooning" is the first step to producing fantastic illustrations - whether hand or computer drawn. Beginning with a fully illustrated overview of the history of cartooning, it gives a fascinating account of early caricatures through to development of modern strip cartoons and animation. Providing everything you need to get started, the book's practical advice includes which equipment and materials you'll need for hand-drawn cartoons and guidance on computer hardware and software. All the major cartoon-drawing techniques are covered, plus easy-to-follow instructions on topics such as how to create characters, convey mood, personality and emotion, give the impression of movement, tell a story in pictures, and much more. Finally, masterclasses provide sample illustrations and practical step-by-step cartooning projects, giving valuable insights into how cartoons are generated and how you can improve your skills and develop your illustrations for a range of applications. This book teaches not only how to draw but also how to bring those cartoons to life.
Call Number: NC1320 .R52x 2006
Publication Date: 2006-08-01
Cartoon Clinic by Ben CormackArt students who suspect that their work suffers from anemia, and who are looking to develop dynamic cartoon characters, can cure their graphic ills with regular visits to Cartoon Clinic. This heavily illustrated book tells them whether their drawings need major surgery or just a little first aid. It offers prescriptions for common cartoon ailments, from faces lacking liveliness to action figures that have run out of steam. The basics of lively cartoon drawing are explained with hundreds of illustrations. Brief but highly informative tutorials focus on virtually every aspect of cartoon drawing, including--Using graphic devices to help tell a story, such as motion lines and dust puffs behind moving figures and sweat drops flying from frightened heads . . . Adding dimension and personality to cartoon characters by giving them comic props and highly individual costumes . . . Making animals human-like by giving them hands and expressive faces, and by standing them on their hind legs . . . and much more. Examples of finished cartoons by professional artists show students successful renditions of effective cartoon art while pointing out ways in which budding cartoonists can fully develop their own talents. More than 300 color illustrations.
Call Number: NC1320 .C595 2006
Publication Date: 2006-03-01
Language + Writing
99 Ways to Tell a Story by Matt Madden99 Ways to Tell a Story is a series of engrossing one-page comics that tell the same story ninety-nine different ways. Inspired by Raymond Queneau's 1947 Exercises in Style, a mainstay of creative writing courses, Madden's project demonstrates the expansive range of possibilities available to all storytellers. Readers are taken on an enlightening tour--sometimes amusing, always surprising--through the world of the story. Writers and artists in every media will find Madden's collection especially useful, even revelatory. Here is a chance to see the full scope of opportunities available to the storyteller, each applied to a single scenario: varying points of view, visual and verbal parodies, formal reimaginings, and radical shuffling of the basic components of the story. Madden's amazing series of approaches will inspire storytellers to think through and around obstacles that might otherwise prevent them from getting good ideas onto the page. 99 Ways to Tell a Story provides a model that will spark productive conversations among all types of creative people: novelists, screenwriters, graphic designers, and cartoonists.
Call Number: NC1764 .M25 2005
Publication Date: 2005-10-25
Drawing Words and Writing Pictures by Jessica Abel; Matt Madden"A gold mine of essential information for every aspiring comics artist. Highly recommended." --Scott McCloud Drawing Words and Writing Pictures is a course on comic creation - for college classes or for independent study - that centers on storytelling and concludes with making a finished comic. With chapters on lettering, story structure, and panel layout, the fifteen lessons offered - each complete with homework, extra credit activities and supplementary reading suggestions - provide a solid introduction for people interested in making their own comics. Additional resources, lessons, and after-class help are available onthe DW-WP website.
Call Number: NC1764 .A24 2008
Publication Date: 2008-06-10
This Book Contains Graphic Language by Rocco Versaci; VersaciThis Book Contains Graphic Language looks at different literary forms and genres—including journalism, fiction, memoirs, and film—in relation to their comic book counterparts. By demonstrating the ways in which comic books (and graphic novels) both reflect upon, and expand the boundaries of literature, Rocco Versaci demonstrates that comics have earned the right to be taken just as seriously as any other literary form. As comics and graphic novels become more popular than ever, literary critics are finding that they now have a new subject to examine. But while many advocates of the medium maintain that comics are a true art form, there have been no detailed comparisons among comics and "legitimate" types of literature. Filling this void, This Book Contains Graphic Language examines different literary forms in relation to their comic book counterparts. These literatures include prose memoir, Holocaust memoir, journalism, film, and-for lack of a better term-the "classics." Each richly-illustrated chapter outlines the key issues of one of these forms and then explores how comic books have been able to reflect and expand upon those issues in unique ways. The comics discussed include Eightball by Daniel Clowes, Love and Rockets by Jaime and Gilbert Hernandez, American Splendor by Harvey Pekar, Maus by Art Spiegelman, Palestine by Joe Sacco, Frontline Combat and Two-Fisted Tales from EC Comics, Sandman by Neil Gaiman and League of Extraordinary Gentlemen by Alan Moore. By examining the ways in which these and other comic books and graphic novels expand the boundaries of literature, English professor Rocco Versaci demonstrates that the medium of comics has earned the right to be regarded as an important artistic and literary form. >
Call Number: PN6714 .V47 2007
Publication Date: 2007-12-15
Comics and Language by Hannah MiodragIt has become an axiom in comic studies that "comics is a language, not a genre." But what exactly does that mean, and how is discourse on the form both aided and hindered by thinking of it in linguistic terms? In Comics and Language, Hannah Miodrag challenges many of the key assumptions about the "grammar" and formal characteristics of comics, and offers a more nuanced, theoretical framework that she argues will better serve the field by offering a consistent means for communicating critical theory in the scholarship. Through engaging close readings and an accessible use of theory, this book exposes the problems embedded in the ways critics have used ideas of language, literature, structuralism, and semiotics, and sets out a new and more theoretically sound way of understanding how comics communicate. Comics and Language argues against the critical tendency to flatten the distinctions between language and images and to discuss literature purely in terms of story content. It closely examines the original critical theories that such arguments purport to draw on and shows how they in fact point away from the conclusions they are commonly used to prove. The book improves the use the field makes of existing scholarly disciplines and furthers the ongoing sophistication of the field. It provides animated and insightful analyses of a range of different texts and takes an interdisciplinary approach. Comics and Language will appeal to the general comics reader and will prove crucial for specialized scholars in the fields of comics, literature, cultural studies, art history, and visual studies. It also provides a valuable summary of the current state of formalist criticism within comics studies and so presents the ideal text for those interested in exploring this growing area of research
Call Number: PN6714 .M56 2013
Publication Date: 2015-01-21
Comics and Narration by Thierry Groensteen; Ann Miller (Translator)This book is the follow-up to Thierry Groensteen's groundbreaking The System of Comics, in which the leading French-language comics theorist set out to investigate how the medium functions, introducing the principle of iconic solidarity, and showing the systems that underlie the articulation between panels at three levels: page layout, linear sequence, and nonsequential links woven through the comic book as a whole. He now develops that analysis further, using examples from a very wide range of comics, including the work of American artists such as Chris Ware and Robert Crumb. He tests out his theoretical framework by bringing it up against cases that challenge it, such as abstract comics, digital comics and shojo manga, and offers insightful reflections on these innovations. In addition, he includes lengthy chapters on three areas not covered in the first book. First, he explores the role of the narrator, both verbal and visual, and the particular issues that arise out of narration in autobiographical comics. Second, Groensteen tackles the question of rhythm in comics, and the skill demonstrated by virtuoso artists in intertwining different rhythms over and above the basic beat provided by the discontinuity of the panels. And third he resets the relationship of comics to contemporary art, conditioned by cultural history and aesthetic traditions but evolving recently as comics artists move onto avant-garde terrain.