It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
With remote learning and limited on-campus hours, the NOVA Libraries are working hard to support you.
Library Service Updates
ENG 112: College Composition II - Guns (Grant, AL): Articles
This guide will assist students in navigating resources that will assist with their annotated bibliography and research paper.
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
Coverage includes over 8,914 journals and magazines dating back to 1887. Subjects include: Animal science; Anthropology; Astronomy; Biology; Chemistry; Engineering; Ethnic and multicultural studies; General science; Geography; Geology; Law; Mathematics; Music; Pharmaceutical sciences; Physics; Psychology; Religion and philosophy; Science and technology; Veterinary science; Women's studies; Zoology.
(Formerly Health & Wellness Resource Center) Key features include reference material, full text health and medical journals, pamphlets, videos, drug guides, recommended websites, and the Mosby's Medical, Nursing and Allied Health Dictionary. Appropriate for both student and consumer use. (NVCC)
Current news for all branches of the military, from periodicals, academic journals and other related content. Content also includes country reports and relevant government documents. (VIVA)
Select the most important 2-4 words related to your topic. Put the word ANDbetween each new word or idea; this tells the database to look for resources with ALLyour terms.
schools AND guns
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words right next to each other.
schools AND "gun control"
schools AND "automatic weapons" AND saftey
schools AND "open carry" AND guns
schools AND "right to bear arms" AND "gun control"
How to Find In-Depth Series in Proquest
In Proquest, select "Advanced Search".
1) Type your topic in the first box. 2) Type series in the second box; change the dropdown menu to Subject heading (all) -- SU. 3) Type wc(>2000) in the third box if you want to specify the number of words in the article.
Why Use a Magazine, Journal or Newspaper Article?
Magazines, journals and newspapers:
Provide detailed information about a specific aspectof a topic.
Report on events, issues or scholarly research.
Are good sources for current or recent information.
Magazines, journals and newspapers typically do NOT provide a summary or overview of a topic.