Article Databases
Here are a few places you can find articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. From off campus you will have to login with your myNOVA username and password.
- World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes world history reference articles, periodical articles, historical maps, primary documents, audio and video. (NVCC) - Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowOver 8,000 articles by top scholars that focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American history and culture. Also includes images and primary sources. (NVCC)
Additional Article Databases
Here are some databases that may also provide information on historical aspects:
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA) - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
- Proquest News and NewspapersIncludes current major and regional newspapers, historical newspapers going back to the 1700s and 1800s and Ethnic NewsWatch.
- Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout world history; from encyclopedias and news articles. (NVCC)
Periodical Types
Articles are published in periodicals, which is any type of publication published at a regular interval (weekly, monthly, quarterly). Periodical types include magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and scholarly journals.
Magazines, journals, and newspapers:
- Provide detailed information about a specific aspect of a topic.
- Report on events, issues, or scholarly research.
- Are good sources for current or recent information.
Magazines, journals and newspapers typically do NOT provide a summary or overview of a topic.
More information on finding scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
napoleon AND history
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"frederick douglass" AND oratory
Use the asterisk (*) to find multiple endings of one word. Using hist* AND america* as search terms will include results that refer to history, historical, america, and americans.
hist* AND america*