Search Online Reference Book Collections
NOVA Libraries have several databases for reference materials on physics. Remember that you will have to login with your myNOVA username and password to use these resources off-campus.
|
Credo Reference includes more than 500 reference books on a variety of topics. E.g., a search for medical imaging will include definitions and articles from reference sources. |
|
Gale Science In Context contains more than 100 Oxford University Press dictionaries and reference books that will define key terms.
|
|
Gale Virtual Reference Library consists of numerous full-text specialized encyclopedias, which can be good sources of background information, topic overviews, and basic facts about a topic.
|
Search Tips
Use broad terms, as encyclopedias usually provide general overviews of topics.
gravity
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in a specific order.
"Johannes Kepler"
Search a Specific Print Encyclopedia
Physics
- Science and Its Times
REF Q175.46 .S35 2000 - Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
REF QB14 .E534 2001 - Space Atlas: Mapping the Universe and Beyond
REF QB65 .T74 2012 - Cambridge Guide to the Solar System
REF QB501 .L24 2011 - Encyclopedia of Physics
REF QC5 .E545 2005
Medical
- Concise Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
REF Q121 .M29 2009 - Science and Its Times
REF Q175.46 .S35 2000 - Instruments of Science
REF Q184.5 .I57 1998 - Companion Encyclopedia of the History of Medicine
REF R133 .E5 1993 - Biotechnology in Context
REF TP248.215 .B563 2012