Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Article Databases
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to Databases by Subject and look under the subject listings Education (EDU, CHD) to find a list of relevant databases.
Remember not to write sentences in the search box. Search by keyword or topic.
Look for additional keywords or subjects offered. Also make sure you look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA) - Associates Programs Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals on subjects commonly taught in community colleges, including accounting, agriculture, automotive, child care, cosmetology, culinary arts and food service, forestry, graphic arts, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding. (VIVA) - Child Development & Adolescent Studies (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIncludes references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. (VIVA)
- Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete covers all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. It provides indexing for over 1,800 journals, as well as full-text for over 900 journals, 81 books, and numerous education-related conference papers. (VIVA) - ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowReferences to thousands of educational topics. Indexes journal articles, books, theses, curricula, conference papers, standards, guidelines and more. ERIC documents (non-journal literature) are available full-text, 1993 to the present. (VIVA)
- Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowTeacher Reference Center is an index of over 270 titles from trade journals, periodicals, and books. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more. (VIVA)
Suggested Keywords
- Child development
- Early childhood
- Multicultural education
- Diversity or cultural pluralism
- Education, Preschool
- Education, Elementary
- Music - Instruction and study
- Art - Study and teaching
- Movement education or dance for children
- Creative ability in children
- Creative activities and seat work
Suggested Articles
- Valuing Diversity: Developing a Deeper Understanding of All Young Children's BehaviorBarbara Kaiser & Judy Sklar Rasminsky. (2020). Teaching Young Children, Vol. 13, No. 2.
- Why Music Education Needs to Incorporate More DiversityJacqueline Kelly-McHale, 2016.
- Facilitating Preschool Learning and Movement through DanceRiolama Lorenzo-Lasa, Roger Ideishi, & Siobhan Ideishi. (2007). Early Childhood Education Journal, Vol. 35 Issue 1, p25-31.
- Landscapes of Identity: Young children and the Visual ArtsLesley Margaret Pohio. (2017). Canadian Review of Art Education: Research & Issues. Vol. 44 Issue 1, p4-19.
- Windows, Bridges and Mirrors: Building Culturally Responsive Early Childhood Classrooms through the Integration of Literacy and the ArtsPaula Purnell, Parveen Ali, Nurun Begum, & Marilyn Carter. (2007). Early Childhood Education Journal. Vol. 34 Issue 6, p419-424.
- Music Teaches Children About Themselves and OthersBetsy Nichols & Alice Honig. (1997). Early Childhood Education Journal. Vol. 24 Issue 4, p213-216.