Search the Library Catalog
Articles
-
EBSCOhost – All DatabasesThe main EBSCOhost landing page to browse or search multiple EBSCOhost databases at the same time.
-
Food Science Source (EBSCO)A full-text database of information on topics relevant to the food industry. (NVCC)
-
ProQuest - All DatabasesApproximately 40 databases, including newspaper collections, ERIC, Ethnic NewsWatch, MEDLINE, EconLit, Plant Science, Biological Sciences, Congressional Publications, and Sociological Abstracts.
-
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest)This collection offers full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases. This collection is a part of the SciTech Premium Collection. SciTech Premium Collection > Natural Science Collection > Agriculture & Environmental Science Collection. (VIVA)
-
Agricola (ProQuest)Journal articles, monographs, proceedings, and theses pertaining to all aspects of agriculture. This database is included in the SciTech Premium Collection. SciTech Premium Collection > Natural Science Collection > Agriculture & Environmental Science Collection > Agricultural Science Collection > Agricola. (VIVA)
Database Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with all your terms.
food AND politics
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"food insecurity" AND poverty
Use OR in between synonyms, alternate spellings, related terms, etc.
GMO OR "genetically modified organism"
If you don't get good results, try again. Change up your keywords.
Use database filters, Full Text, Source Type, Publication Date, to help you limit to the types of sources your are looking for.
Internet Search Tips
Use AND and OR
Type AND between each keyword.
Use OR between synonyms, alternate spellings, and related terms. Make sure to put parenthesis () around your OR statement.
Use site: to narrow down to .gov, .edu, or a specific website.
GMO AND statistics site:.gov
GMO AND farming site:npr.org
Use the Time tool in Google to narrow down by publication date.
Practice Lateral Reading