Article Databases
Here are a few places you can find articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. Remember that you will have to login with your myNOVA username and password.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA) - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC) - Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
- Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Formerly Gale Fine Arts & Music Collection) covers 150 full-text journals that supports research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. (NVCC)
Search Tips
Magazine, journal, and newspaper focus on a specific aspect of a topic. Therefore, what you type into the search box needs to be specific.
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
U2 AND religion
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"civil war" AND music
Use an asterisk ( * ) to find multiple endings of one word. Using censor* as a search term will include results that refer to censor, censors, censored, censoring, and censorship.
censor* AND Shostakovich