Article Databases
Here are a few places you can find articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. Remember that you will have to login with your myNOVA username and password (the same ones you use to access Canvas, student email, etc.).
- Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citations and full-text journal articles. Subject coverage includes world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. (VIVA) - Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and summaries for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Indexes over 2,000 journals, books and other publications, with full-text for over 700 of them. (VIVA) - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA) - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, and others. (VIVA) - Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout world history; from encyclopedias and news articles. (NVCC)
Why can't I just use Google?
This video by Yavapai College Library in Prescott, Arizona demonstrates the different types of information found in Google versus library databases.
Click the 
icon located in the bottom right corner to watch the video in fullscreen mode.
Where do I find articles?
Articles are published in periodicals, which is any type of publication published at a regular interval (weeks, months, etc.). Periodical types include magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and scholarly journals. It is important to understand what kind of periodical will have the articles you need. More information on finding peer-reviewed articles.
Searching Library Databases
Search Tips
Identify Your Keywords
Select the most important 2-3 keywords. These are terms related to your topic. For instance, let's say your essay is about Plato's Allegory of the Cave. Your keywords could be:
Plato, Allegory of the Cave
Compose Your Search String
In order to find information in a database, you must create a search string. This is a combination of keywords and search operators (e.g. AND, OR, *) that tells the database the information you want to receive. Here are a few tips:
1. Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in a specific order.
"Allegory of the Cave"
2. Put the word AND between each new keyword or phrase; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your keywords.
"Allegory of the Cave" AND Plato
3. Put the word OR between two or more keywords to find articles that use common synonyms for your topic.
"Allegory of the Cave" OR "parable of the cave" OR "Plato's cave"
4. Use an asterisk ( * ) to find multiple versions of one keyword. For example, using philosoph* as a search term will include results that refer to philosophy, philosophies, philosopher, philosophers, philosophical, etc.
philosoph*
Search Examples
