Periodical Article Databases
The following databases include articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals along with a variety of other materials including primary sources.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This resource offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. In addition to nearly 900 full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,500 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. (VIVA) - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals. (NVCC) - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
Pro/Con Articles & Essays
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on controversial issues in the news; includes chronolgies.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes essays and magazine and newspaper articles. For Pro/Con arguments, look for VIEWPOINTS.
Search Tips
- Use only the most essential words related to your topic
- Put the word AND between each new idea. For example:
homeless* AND children AND school
homeless* AND children AND education
"law enforcement" AND discrimination AND institutional*
police AND discrimination AND institutional*
- Use related terms to improve your results. In the examples above, "law enforcement" and police are related terms.
- Use quotation marks for phrases: "law enforcement" "civil rights"
- Use an asterisk * for truncation: institutional* will find articles with the words institutional, institutionalize, institutionalized, institutionally
What Are Peer Reviewed Journal Articles?
Image copyright of James Yang.
Many scholarly journals use a process called peer review.
- Before an article can be published in a peer reviewed journal, the journal requires that other scholars in the author's field (the author's peers) critically evaluate the article.
- Peer review is a kind of quality control process to help ensure that the article represents the best scholarship available.
Click here to learn more
about finding peer reviewed journal articles.