Reference Books at Alexandria Library
Black's Law Dictionary by Call Number: Reference KF156 .B53 2014ISBN: 9780314613004Publication Date: 2014-05-01This comprehensive law dictionary contains more than 50,000 terms and includes definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms. More than 7,500 terms new to this edition include bioweapon, gazump, hacker, mommy track, unperson and zero-tolerance law.
Also available in Westlaw; see "Legal Reference in Westlaw" further below.
The Bluebook by Call Number: Reference KF245 .U5 2020ISBN: 0615361161Publication Date: 2020
Virginia Resources at Alexandria Library
The following primary and secondary resources for Viriginia are held at NOVA Alexandria Library:
- Virginia Code The statutes (laws) of Virginia codified by the Virginia General Assembly. The current set was published in 1950, with regular updates in replacement volumes and pocket parts. The Index includes subjects covered by the law, i.e. "Driving While Intoxicated" or "Dulles Toll Road."
- Virginia Reports (1960-present; v.201- ; missing v. 205-210) Cases decided in the Supreme Court of Virginia. Cases are arranged chronologically; we have print volumes for 1960 to the present, and Westlawi provides online coverage.
- Virginia Court of Appeals Reports (1985-1995; v.1-13) An intermediate court established in 1985 which hears appeals of Virginia Circuit Court and Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission decisions. The Supreme Court of Virginia hears appeals to cases decided in the Virginia Court of Appeals. We have 1985 – 1995 in print, 1985 – present available in NexisUni.
- South Eastern Reporter (1995-1998; v.451-503) A regional case law reporter, including cases argued and determined in the courts of Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, West Virginia and Virginia (Virginia Reports and Virginia Appeals Reports). We have volumes 451-503 covering 1995 to 1998.
- Virginia and West Virginia Digest A subject index to case law for Virginia and West Virginia. Topics are arranged alphabetically (Abandoned & Lost Property, Abortion, etc.) with chronological citations to past decisions in Virginia and West Virginia cases on those topics. Updated regularly with new volumes and pocket parts.
- Michie’s Jurisprudence of Virginia and West Virginia A legal encyclopedia for Virginia and West Virginia, with citations to statutes, case law and law review articles on the topics arranged alphabetically by topic. E.g., in the topic Animals, there are sections on Animals as Property, Licenses and Regulation, Diseased Animals, Cruelty to Animals, Liability for Injuries by Animals, etc.
How to Use West's Digest
Legal Reference in Westlaw
- Westlaw Campus Research (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
On the Westlaw main page:
- Select Secondary Sources
- Select American Jurisprudence or Black's Law Dictionary
Online Encyclopedias
Gale eBooks is a database of full-text specialized encyclopedias, which can be good sources of background information, topic overviews, and basic facts about a topic.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) includes full-text encyclopedias, handbooks, and other sources for multidisciplinary research. (VIVA, NVCC)
