Article Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA) - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals. (NVCC)
- Databases by SubjectCheck out other databases that are useful for doing research on various topics
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-4 words related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new word or idea; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
healthcare AND ethnicity
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words right next to each other.
"space junk" AND removal
Use the asterisk (*) to truncate a word; this tells the database to look for all words that have the same base. In the example below, search results would include government, governance and governing.
"healthcare inequality" AND govern*
Use OR between synonyms and related terms:
"achievement gap" AND (poverty OR low-income OR disadvantaged)
Look at the number of results.
Too Many: Add keywords or be more specific.
Too Few: Change keywords or make them more broad.
Ask for help!
Librarians are happy to help!