Reference Books at Alexandria Library
Black's Law Dictionary by Call Number: Reference KF156 .B53 2014ISBN: 9780314613004Publication Date: 2014-05-01This comprehensive law dictionary contains more than 50,000 terms and includes definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms. More than 7,500 terms new to this edition include bioweapon, gazump, hacker, mommy track, unperson and zero-tolerance law.
The Bluebook by Call Number: Reference KF245 .B58 2020ISBN: 9780578666150Publication Date: 2020-05-20A Uniform System of Citation: The Bluebook is the definitive style guide for legal citation in the United States. For generations, law students, lawyers, scholars, judges, and other legal professionals have relied on The Bluebook's uniform system of citation in their writing. In a diverse and rapidly changing legal profession, The Bluebook continues to provide a systematic method by which members of the profession communicate important information to one another about the sources and legal authorities upon which they rely in their work.
Understanding and Mastering the Bluebook by Call Number: Circulating KF245 .B37 2007ISBN: 1594603650Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Virginia Resources at Alexandria Library
The following primary and secondary resources for Viriginia are held at NOVA Alexandria Library:
- Virginia Code
- Virginia Reports
- Virginia Court of Appeals Reports
- South Eastern Reporter
- Virginia Digest
- West Virginia Digest
- Michie's Jurisprudence of Virginia and West Virginia
Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) includes full-text encyclopedias, handbooks, and other sources for multidisciplinary research. (VIVA, NVCC)
Access other online encyclopedias on the library's eBooks page, under "Encyclopedias and Dictionaries."
Legal Reference in Westlaw
- Westlaw Campus Research (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
On the Westlaw main page:
- Select Secondary Sources
- Select American Jurisprudence or Black's Law Dictionary