LibGuides: ENG 200: Introduction to Linguistics (Alexandria): Reference

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries (online)

Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics
Search within this scholarly encyclopedia for your term or topic.

Credo Reference
Includes:
Cambridge Introduction to the Philosophy of Language
Cambridge Guide to Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
Dictionary of Sociolinguistics
Dictionary of Languages
Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics
Key Ideas in Linguistics and the Philosophy of Language
Oxford Reference Online
Includes:
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics
Concise Oxford Companion to the English Language
Oxford English Dictionary
The full text of the Oxford English Dictionary, which provides information on the historical development of the language. (VIVA)

*Dictionary of Languages*	Ref P29 .D35 1998
*Encyclopedia of Communication & Information*	Ref P87.5 .E53 2002
*Language, Memory & Cognition in Infancy & Early Childhood*	Ref P118 .L374x 2009
*Facts About the World's Languages*	Ref P371 .F33 2001
*The World's Major Languages*	Ref P371 .W6 1987
*The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language*	Ref PE1072 .C68 1995
*The Barnhart Dictionary of Etymology*	Ref PE1580 .B35 1988
Fowler's Modern English Usage (1965 ed. and 2000 ed.)	Ref PE1628 .F65
*Garner's Modern American Usage*	Ref PE2827 .G37 2009
*Modern American Slang & Unconventional English*	Ref PE3721 .P323 2009

Childhood Disorders Diagnostic Desk Reference Ref RJ50 .C483 2003

Google Ngram Viewer
Tracks the popularity of 500 billion words from over 5 million books published between 1500 and 2008.