Historical Context
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on many topics, including historical events
- Literature and Its Times: Profiles of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events that Influenced ThemAlso in the library: Ref PN50 .L574 1997
- Salem Press History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia articles on historical events - Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia articles on popular culture in the United States in the 20th century.
In the Library's Reference collection:
World Literature and Its Times: Classical Literature Ref PA3003 .M67x 2006
World Literature and Its Times: Middle Eastern Literature Ref PJ307 .M67 2004
World Literature and Its Times: African Literature Ref PL8010 .M65 2000
World Literature and Its Times: Latin American Literature Ref PQ7081 .M625 1999
World Literature and Its Times: British/Irish, Beginnings-1830s Ref PR25 .M67 2001
World Literature and Its Times: British/Irish, 1837-Present Ref PR471 .M65 2001
Plot Summaries and Author Biographies
- Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia articles about famous people, including authors - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on many topics, including historical events, plot summaries, and censorship.
Why Certain Books Were Banned
To find information on your banned book:
- select the Literature Suppressed on... title below that has your banned book
- scroll down the page to the table of contents, or click on "PDF Full Text" to search within the book for your banned book
- Literature Suppressed on Political GroundsTitles in this volume include: 1984, Grapes of Wrath, Gulliver's Travels, Uncle Tom's Cabin, The Jungle, Slaughterhouse-Five
- Literature Suppressed on Religious GroundsTitles in this volume include: Analects (Confucius), Dialogue Concerning the Two World Systems (Galileo), On the Origin of Species (Darwin), The Satanic Verses (Rushdie), Essay Concerning Human Understanding (Locke),
- Literature Suppressed on Sexual GroundsTitles in this volume include: Ulysses
- Literature Suppressed on Social GroundsTitles in this volume include: The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, Brave New World, Catcher in the Rye, The Color Purple, To Kill a Mockingbird, The Autobiography of Malcolm X
If your banned book is not in any of the Literature Suppressed on __________Grounds books, look in the sources listed below:
- Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Search for your book title.
In the list of results, select "Topic & Work Overviews".
- Silenced in the Library: Banned Books in AmericaOnly one person can use this ebook at a time, so be sure to exit when you are finished.
- Controversial Books in K–12 Classrooms and Libraries : Challenged, Censored, and BannedOnly one person can use this book at a time, so be sure to exit when you are finished.
Why Use an Encyclopedia?
|
An encyclopedia is a type of reference book. Use a reference book to:
|
