Targeting Pronunciation: Communicating Clearly in English by Sue F. MillerTargeting Pronunciation uses an interactive approach and clear explanations to help students communicate effectively in English. It makes pronunciation easy to teach and fun to learn. The text features a diagnostic package for setting individual priorities. Students build independence by improving their ability to self-monitor and self-correct and by completing home assignments for practice beyond the classroom. The Second Edition includes increased coverage of consonants and vowels, enhanced Web activities, additional authentic speech samples, and indexes by chapter and activity type for easy reference.
Call Number: PE1128 .M58
Pronunciation Pairs by Ann BakerThis new edition of a highly successful pronunciation text covers all of the speech sounds of North American English, as well as spelling, intonation, and stress. Pronunciation Pairs offers a variety of exercises and activities, from very controlled minimal pair and listening discrimination tasks to dialogs, games, puzzles, and guided conversations. The Pronunciation Pairs, Second Edition, Student's Book has updated dialogs, which include current and useful vocabulary. Hundreds of simple, clear illustrations help students understand the dialogs and vocabulary. An audio CD with selections from the complete class audio program is included in the back of the Student's Book.
Quest: Listening and Speaking by Laurie Blass; Pamela HartmannQuest, Second Edition prepares students for academic success. The integrated Quest Second Edition program provides robust scaffolding to support and accelerate each student's journey from exploring general interest topics to mastering academic content.
Call Number: PE1128 .B59265x 2007
American Accent Training by Ann CookThis new and expanded third edition of American Accent Training with 5 new audio CDs has four all-new chapters that cover the psychology of accent acquisition, American voice quality, a pronunciation overview, and an ESL instructor's guide. The new CDs feature professional male and female voices that have been carefully selected to represent that perfect American accent. With 30 years of extensive research, the unique AAT methodology has been refined to teach the American sound quickly and easily, paying special attention to: Voice quality, with emphasis on accurate presentation of the authentic American sound Pronunciation, with attention to all vowels, consonants, blends, and diphthongs Intonation, which focuses on syllable stress rules and word stress in a sentence Linking, or liaisons between phonetically transcribed sounds so students can "see" the sound American Accent Training also offers detailed nationality guides for ten languages and accent variations: Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Spanish, French, German, Russian, Korean, Arabic, and the US Southern accent. Added features include access to comprehensive websites, and referral to a qualified telephone analyst for individual help. American Accent Training has been Americanizing the speaking habits of students and business people since 1991. Going where no accent book has gone before, AAT continues to set the standard for anyone learning or teaching the American accent.
Call Number: PE2815 .C66 2012
Easy Pronunciation by Living Language StaffA practical English-language pronunciation program helps those listeners who speak English as a second language or speak American English with regional accents, offering a wide range of useful words, phrases, colloquial expressions, and more.
Call Number: PE1137 .E379x 2004
Fluent English by Living Language StaffDo you want to take your English learning to the next level? "Fluent English" is the ideal course for developing native-like fluency in English. It focuses on the English learning essentials-idiomatic expressions, verbs, practical vocabulary, and grammar usage in context-and builds listening comprehension as well as pronunciation and intonation skills. In this program you'll find numerous opportunities to practice speaking English, as well as listening, writing, and reading English. You'll also learn essential information about living and working in the United States. The course includes a 224-page textbook and three hours of recordings on three CDs. "Fluent English "also includes a flashcard CD-ROM that gives students the chance to learn and practice common English idiomatic expressions - a multi-media approach to practice that improves retention..
Call Number: PE1128.R2135x 2008
English for the Real World by Living Language StaffReach your life goals with "English for the Real World." Learn English now. "English for the Real World "teaches English as it's really spoken in practical situations and day-to-day life. This language course""includes a book and three 60-minute CDs that work together to boost conversational speech and listening comprehension skills. The book features realistic English dialogues, thorough explanations of English grammar that go beyond the basics, and English vocabulary sections that include the most commonly used idiomatic expressions. Plenty of exercises, both in the book and on the recordings, will help you improve your English today. "English for the Real World" also includes a flashcard CD-ROM that gives you the chance to learn and practice common idiomatic expressions -- a multi-media approach to English language practice that improves retention.
Call Number: PE1131 .P46x 2009
Easy English by Living LanguageLiving Language experts introduce Easy English, a course that teaches basic English for speakers of all languages, and combines a book and audio for a comprehensive introduction to English. It provides everything you need to get started learning English today. Key features of the language course include: * 400 Illustrations -- learn English easily by association * 1 Book * 3 Compact Discs -- learn English at home or anywhere you can play a CD!
Call Number: PE1128 .E289x 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Watching movies is a great way to improve your listening and have fun at the same time! The NOVA Libraries have over 2,000 feature films for you to borrow.
Educational videos on a variety of topics including humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, technical education, family and consumer sciences, careers and job search, guidance and counseling and archival films and newsreels. (NVCC, VCCS)