LibGuides: ENG 112: College Composition II (Machado-Lynch): Books

Search the Library Catalog

Search the Catalog

Advanced Search | Newspaper Search | My Account | Search Tips

Search Tips

Search for books on your topic in the library catalog.
Look for broader topics that deal with your image including the photographer's name, books on the event in which the photograph was taken, and the historical era in which the event occurred.
Select 'Request Item' to have books from other NOVA libraries sent to Loudoun for pick up. If your book is at Loudoun be sure to write down the call number in order to locate the book on the shelf.
E-books and e-videos are accessible through the catalog. If you see any in your search results, click 'Online access' to open.

Suggested Resources

California on the Breadlines: Dorothea Lange, Paul Taylor, and the making of a New Deal narrative (eBook) by Jan Goggans California on the Breadlines is the compelling account of how Dorothea Lange, the Great Depression's most famous photographer, and Paul Taylor, her labor economist husband, forged a relationship that was private--they both divorced spouses to be together--collaborative, and richly productive. Lange and Taylor poured their considerable energies into the decade-long project of documenting the plight of California's dispossessed, which in 1939 culminated in the publication of their landmark book, American Exodus: A Record of Human Erosion. Jan Goggans blends biography, literature, and history to retrace the paths that brought Lange and Taylor together. She shows how American Exodus set forth a new way of understanding those in crisis during the economic disaster in California and ultimately informed the way we think about the Great Depression itself.
ISBN: 9780520266216
Seeing America: Women Photographers between the Wars (eBook) by Melissa A. McEuen Seeing America explores the camera work of five women who directed their visions toward influencing social policy and cultural theory. Taken together, they visually articulated the essential ideas occupying the American consciousness in the years between the world wars. Melissa McEuen examines the work of Doris Ulmann, who made portraits of celebrated artists in urban areas and lesser-known craftspeople in rural places; Dorothea Lange, who magnified human dignity in the midst of poverty and unemployment; Marion Post Wolcott, a steadfast believer in collective strength as the antidote to social ills and the best defense against future challenges; Margaret Bourke-White, who applied avant-garde advertising techniques in her exploration of the human condition; and Berenice Abbott, a devoted observer of the continuous motion and chaotic energy that characterized the modern cityscape. Combining feminist biography with analysis of visual texts, McEuen considers the various prisms though which each woman saw and revealed America. Their documentary photographs were the result of personal visions that had been formed by experiences and emotions as well as by careful calculations and technological processes. These photographers captured the astounding variety of occupations, values, and leisure activities that shaped the nation, and their photographs illuminate the intricate workings of American culture in the 1920s and 1930s.
ISBN: 0813190940
Images That Injure (eBook) by Susan Dente Ross; Paul Martin Lester This expanded collection of new and fully revised explorations of media content identifies the ways we all have been negatively stereotyped and demonstrates how careful analysis of media portrayals can create more beneficial alternatives. * 33 distinguished authors as well as new voices in the field combine their extensive and varied expertise to explain the social effects of media stereotyping. * Includes historical and contemporary illustrations that range from editorial cartoons to the sinking of the Titanic * Richly illustrated with historical and up-to-date photographic illustrations * Every chapter's content is meticulously supported with numerous sources cited * A glossary defines key words mentioned in the chapters
Dorothea Lange by Mark Durden Dorothea Lange (1895–1965) was a highly acclaimed social realist photographer who recorded one of the most important historical periods in American social history. In 1935, tired of studio portraiture, she began working for the Farm Security Administration (FSA), and created many of the images that define the Depression and the disastrous migration of farming families to the West in the popular imagination. This monograph is a concise introduction to her work, with an essay, 55 photographs and picture-by-picture commentaries.
History's Greatest Images: The World's 100 Most Influential Photographs by Kelly Knauer; Time Magazine Editors Here is a book that indelibly captures the human pageant through the remarkable art of photojournalism. After all, we live in a visual age, when history is both made and experienced through photographs, from the flag raising at Iwo Jima to the thrill of the first footstep on the moon. Now TIME has gathered the most significant and influential photos in history in a magnificent volume that celebrates the art and craft of photojournalism: Great Images. Here are scientific breakthroughs, political upheavals and social revolutions, from the first photographs of an embryo in a human womb to the indelible images of America's Civil Rights movement. Here are sailors kissing nurses, a single man defying a Chinese tank, firefighters raising the American flag over the ruins of the World Trade Center. Based on a highly successful 2000 book, this new edition has been completely updated to add the most significant pictures of the last decade, from hanging chads ands the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq to Hurricane Katrina and the 2010 earthquake in Haiti.
Migrant Mother: How a Photograph Defined the Great Depression by Don Nardo In the 1930s, photographer Dorothea Lange traveled the American West documenting the experiences of those devastated by the Great Depression. She wanted to use the power of the image to effect political change, but even she could hardly have expected the effect that a simple portrait of a worn-looking woman and her children would have on history. This image, taken at a migrant workers' camp in Nipomo, California, would eventually come to be seen as the very symbol of the Depression. The photograph helped reveal the true cost of the disaster on human lives and shocked the U.S. government into providing relief for the millions of other families devastated by the Depression.

9/11 and the Visual Culture of Disaster (eBook) by Thomas Stubblefield The day the towers fell, indelible images of plummeting rubble, fire, and falling bodies were imprinted in the memories of people around the world. Images that were caught in the media loop after the disaster and coverage of the attack, its aftermath, and the wars that followed reflected a pervasive tendency to treat these tragic events as spectacle. Though the collapse of the World Trade Center was "the most photographed disaster in history," it failed to yield a single noteworthy image of carnage. Thomas Stubblefield argues that the absence within these spectacular images is the paradox of 9/11 visual culture, which foregrounds the visual experience as it obscures the event in absence, erasure, and invisibility. From the spectral presence of the Tribute in Light to Art Spiegelman's nearly blank New Yorker cover, and from the elimination of the Twin Towers from television shows and films to the monumental cavities of Michael Arad's 9/11 memorial, the void became the visual shorthand for the incident. By examining configurations of invisibility and erasure across the media of photography, film, monuments, graphic novels, and digital representation, Stubblefield interprets the post-9/11 presence of absence as the reaffirmation of national identity that implicitly laid the groundwork for the impending invasions of Iraq and Afghanistan.
Falling After 9/11: Crisis in American Art and Literature (eBook) by Aimee Pozorski Falling After 9/11 investigates the connections between violence, trauma, and aesthetics by exploring post 9/11 figures of falling in art and literature. From the perspective of trauma theory, Aimee Pozorski provides close readings of figures of falling in such exemplary American texts as Don DeLillo's novel, Falling Man, Diane Seuss's poem, "Falling Man," Jonathan Safran Foer's Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Fr#65533;d#65533;ric Briegbeder's Windows on the World, and Richard Drew's famous photograph of the man falling from the World Trade Center. Falling After 9/11 argues that the apparent failure of these texts to register fully the trauma of the day in fact points to a larger problem in the national tradition: the problem of reference--of how to refer to falling--in the 21st century and beyond.
The Shock of the News: Media Coverage and the Making of 9/11 (eBook) by Brian A. Monahan How did the events of September 11, 2001 come to be thought of as 9/11? The Shock of the News is an authoritative account of post-9/11 political and social processes, offering an in-depth analysis of the media coverage of this momentous event. Brian Monahan demonstrates how 9/11 has been transformed into a morality tale centered on patriotism, victimization, and heroes. Introducing the idea of "public drama" as a way of making sense of how media processed and packaged the 9/11 attacks for their audiences, Monahan not only illuminates how and why the coverage took shape as it did, but also provides us with new insights into the social, cultural, and political consequences of the attacks and their aftermath. Monahan explains how and why 9/11 became such a potent symbol, exploring how meanings and symbols get created, reinforced, and disseminated in modern society. Ultimately, Monahan offers an important new understanding of this singular event of our time, and his compelling narrative brings the momentous events back into focus.
ISBN: 0814759572
American Popular Culture in the Era of Terror: Falling Skies, Dark Knights Rising, and Collapsing Cultures by Jesse Kavadlo Bringing together the most popular genres of the 21st century, this book argues that Americans have entered a new era of narrative dominated by the fear--and wish fulfillment--of the breakdown of authority and terror itself. * Provides an interesting new framework in which to examine popular culture * Examines films, television shows, and primary texts such as novels for evidence of cultural anxiety and a preoccupation with terror * Offers insightful and original interpretations of primary texts * Suggests possible conclusions about cultural anxiety regarding breakdowns of tradition and authority
Photography and September 11th: Spectacle, Memory, Trauma by Jennifer Good It is all but impossible to think of September 11th 2001 and not, at the same time, recall an image. The overwhelmingly visual coverage in the world's media pictured a spectacle of terror, from images of the collapsing towers, to injured victims and fatigued firefighters. In the days, weeks and months that followed, this vast collection of photographs continued to circulate relentlessly. This book investigates the psychological impact of those photographs on a stunned American audience. Drawing on trauma theory, this book asks whether the prolonged exposure of audience to photographs was cathartic or damaging. It explores how first the collective memory of the event was established in the American psyche and then argues that through repetitive use of the most powerful pictures, the culture industry created a dangerously simple 9/11 metanarrative. At the same time, people began to reclaim and use photography to process their own feelings, most significantly in 'communities' of photographic memorial websites. Such exercises were widely perceived as democratic and an aid to recovery. This book interrogates that assumption, providing a new understanding of how audiences see and process news photography in times of crisis.
Call Number: HV6432.7 .G657 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Watching the World Change: the Stories Behind the Images of 9/11 by David Friend The attack on the World Trade Center was the most watched event in human history. And the footage recorded that day came from myriad perspectives—from TV cameras and tourist snapshots to photographer Thomas E. Franklin's iconic image of three firefighters raising the American flag at Ground Zero. David Friend explains how that week marked a phase change in the digital age, a moment when all the advances in television, photography, and the Web converged on a single event. A brilliant chronicle of how we process disaster,Watching the World Change is "an elegant and moving examination of the photographic legacy of that day in history….Brings meaning to a terrible time" (New Orleans Times-Picayune). Includes the exclusive story of the French filmmaker brothers who chronicled the attacks and survived the collapse of the towers.

Little Rock: Race and Resistance at Central High School (eBook) by Karen Anderson A political history of the most famous desegregation crisis in America The desegregation crisis in Little Rock is a landmark of American history: on September 4, 1957, after the Supreme Court struck down racial segregation in public schools, Arkansas Governor Orval Faubus called up the National Guard to surround Little Rock Central High School, preventing black students from going in. On September 25, 1957, nine black students, escorted by federal troops, gained entrance. With grace and depth, Little Rock provides fresh perspectives on the individuals, especially the activists and policymakers, involved in these dramatic events. Looking at a wide variety of evidence and sources, Karen Anderson examines American racial politics in relation to changes in youth culture, sexuality, gender relations, and economics, and she locates the conflicts of Little Rock within the larger political and historical context. Anderson considers how white groups at the time, including middle class women and the working class, shaped American race and class relations. She documents white women's political mobilizations and, exploring political resentments, sexual fears, and religious affiliations, illuminates the reasons behind segregationists' missteps and blunders. Anderson explains how the business elite in Little Rock retained power in the face of opposition, and identifies the moral failures of business leaders and moderates who sought the appearance of federal compliance rather than actual racial justice, leaving behind a legacy of white flight, poor urban schools, and institutional racism. Probing the conflicts of school desegregation in the mid-century South, Little Rock casts new light on connections between social inequality and the culture wars of modern America. Some images inside the book are unavailable due to digital copyright restrictions.
ISBN: 1400832144
Beyond Little Rock: the origins and legacies of the Central High crisis (eBook) by John A. Kirk; Minnijean Brown Trickey Based on extensive archival work, private paper collections, and oral history, this book includes eight of John Kirk's essays, two of which have never been published before. Together, these essays locate the dramatic events of the crisis within the larger story of the African American struggle for freedom and equality in Arkansas. Examining key episodes in state history from before the New Deal to the present, Kirk covers a wide range of topics that include the historiography of the school crisis; the impact of the New Deal; early African American politics and mass mobilization; race, gender, and the civil rights movement; the role of white liberals in the struggle; and the intersections of race and city planning policy. Kirk unearths many previously neglected individuals, organizations, and episodes, and provides a thought-provoking analytical framework for understanding them.
ISBN: 9781557288516
Elizabeth and Hazel: Two Women of Little Rock (eBook) by David Margolick The names Elizabeth Eckford and Hazel Bryan Massery may not be well known, but the image of them from September 1957 surely is: a black high school girl, dressed in white, walking stoically in front of Little Rock Central High School, and a white girl standing directly behind her, face twisted in hate, screaming racial epithets. This famous photograph captures the full anguish of desegregation—in Little Rock and throughout the South—and an epic moment in the civil rights movement. In this gripping book, David Margolick tells the remarkable story of two separate lives unexpectedly braided together. He explores how the haunting picture of Elizabeth and Hazel came to be taken, its significance in the wider world, and why, for the next half-century, neither woman has ever escaped from its long shadow. He recounts Elizabeth’s struggle to overcome the trauma of her hate-filled school experience, and Hazel’s long efforts to atone for a fateful, horrible mistake. The book follows the painful journey of the two as they progress from apology to forgiveness to reconciliation and, amazingly, to friendship. This friendship foundered, then collapsed—perhaps inevitably—over the same fissures and misunderstandings that continue to permeate American race relations more than half a century after the unforgettable photograph at Little Rock. And yet, as Margolick explains, a bond between Elizabeth and Hazel, silent but complex, endures.
Little Rock Nine by Diane Andrews Henningfeld This series provides multiple views of momentous events in recent history; each book helps readers develop critical thinking skills, increase global awareness, and enhance their understanding of international perspectives about historic events.; Perspectives on Modern World History: Little Rock Nine explores the events surrounding the Little Rock Nine crises, providing background information on the Little Rock Nine, examining related controversies, and offering personal narratives from those who ; Using primary and secondary sources, each volume provides background information on a significant event in modern world history, presents the controversies surrounding the event, and offers first-person narratives from people who lived through or were imp
Call Number: LC214.23.L56 L58 2014
Today the World Is Watching You: The Little Rock Nine and the Fight for School Integration, 1957 by Kekla Magoon In this wrenching story, we'll learn about the bitter history of racial discrimination in the United States. We'll see how the Little Rock Nine and others broke boundaries and paved the way for further civil rights actions in the years that followed.
Call Number: LC214.23.L56 M34 2011
History's Greatest Images: The World's 100 Most Influential Photographs by Kelly Knauer; Time Magazine Editors Here is a book that indelibly captures the human pageant through the remarkable art of photojournalism. After all, we live in a visual age, when history is both made and experienced through photographs, from the flag raising at Iwo Jima to the thrill of the first footstep on the moon. Now TIME has gathered the most significant and influential photos in history in a magnificent volume that celebrates the art and craft of photojournalism: Great Images. Here are scientific breakthroughs, political upheavals and social revolutions, from the first photographs of an embryo in a human womb to the indelible images of America's Civil Rights movement. Here are sailors kissing nurses, a single man defying a Chinese tank, firefighters raising the American flag over the ruins of the World Trade Center. Based on a highly successful 2000 book, this new edition has been completely updated to add the most significant pictures of the last decade, from hanging chads ands the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq to Hurricane Katrina and the 2010 earthquake in Haiti.
Call Number: D426 .H577x 2012

Where Have All the Flower Children Gone? (eBook) by Sandra Gurvis What happened to the Vietnam protesters and civil rights activists? Where did their idealism lead them? And what do they feel they have contributed to the nation's political debate? Answers to these and many other questions can be found in the first-hand narratives, history, and photographs of Where Have All the Flower Children Gone? Chapters examine such aspects as the origins of the student protest movement and the conservative backlash as well as the fates of draft evaders, expatriates, and conscientious objectors. Respondents explore the conflict between the various generations over Vietnam, Iraq, and other issues. What happened to the children of the 1960s, and how do they reconcile their pasts with the present? Gurvis examines little-known aspects of the 1960s such as an uprising at Colorado State and coffeehouses that helped soldiers form opinions about Vietnam. Where Have All the Flower Children Gone? puts a contemporary face on the Age of Aquarius. Gurvis interviews such officials as Senator Chuck Hagel (R-Nebraska) and such high-profile former radicals as Bernadine Dohrn. The book also provides one of the last interviews with the late Ossie Davis. The major and minor players of Kent State and Jackson State, where students and others perished at the hands of soldiers, weigh in as well as do the generations preceding and succeeding the Baby Boomers. Sandra Gurvis is a freelance writer living in Columbus, Ohio. She has written for numerous magazines and is the author of ten books, including the novel The Pipe Dreamers.
The War Within: America's Battle Over Vietnam (eBook) by Tom Wells The War Within: America's Battle over Vietnam is a painfully engrossing and popularly written account of how the battle on the home front ended America's least popular war. This absorbing narrative, hailed by critics of every persuasion, is the fruit of over a decade's worth of research: the author sifted through mountains of government documents, press coverage, and transcripts of interviews he conducted with virtually all of the key players, both inside the U.S. government and among the dissenters who eventually brought the war to an end. In these pages the antiwar era comes to life through the words of scores of participants, both the famous and the forgotten, who speak with candor and passion about this tumultuous period. A remarkable story of a powerful grassroots movement and its influence on officials in Washington.
ISBN: 9781504029339
The Vietnam War (eBook) by David M. Haugen; Susan Musser The editors of this collection of essays have thoughtfully and thoroughly compiled a sequence of essays that take readers through the high-controversial and devastating Vietnam War. The essays are international sources, giving multiple perspectives. Readers receive a historical background on the war and learn of the major factors that contributed to it. They will read about the controversies surrounding it, as well as read compelling personal narratives from those who lived through it or were directly impacted by the war.
ISBN: 9780737750089
Marc Riboud by Marc Riboud A member of Magnum, Marc Riboud has travelled the world, from Europe to the Middle East and from Vietnam to the United States. Repelled by violence, indifferent to the pursuit of 'events', yet irresistibly drawn by the desire to see, he is a reporter under the spell of life itself. Whether covering the Cultural Revolution or the Soviet Union before perestroika, he waits for the inner truth to 'rise to the surface of things'. These photographs reveal his intense awareness of the innate power of each image. The Photofile series brings together the best work of the world's greatest photographers, in an affordable pocket format. Handsome and collectable, the books are produced to the highest standards. Each volume contains some sixty full-page reproductions printed in superb duotone, together with a critical introduction and a full bibliography. The series has been awarded the first annual prize for distinguished photographic books by the International Center of Photography, New York.
Call Number: TR820 .R52413x 2016
ISBN: 9780500411117
Publication Date: 2016-03-14
Marc Riboud: Photographs at Home and Abroad by Claude Roy This volume is a retrospective of the work of famed French photographer Marc Riboud. Photographs from Paris, China, Vietnam, and the Middle East are included. These images display an elegance of composition and tough minded scepticism."
Call Number: TR820 .R5313 1988
Marc Riboud by Marc Riboud An new volume in Photofile, an accessible and affordable photography series French photographer Marc Riboud was born in 1923. After spending time working in a factory during World War II, he turned his attention to photography full-time. He traveled the world and captured iconic images such as the famous Eiffel Tower Painter and Flower Child, taken during the March on the Pentagon in 1967, and covering such events as Watergate and the Vietnam War. He was a member of Magnum Photos until 1979, and his photographs have appeared in such publications as National Geographic, Life, and Paris Match. This latest volume in the Photofile series assembles the candid, soulful moments that Marc Riboud is renowned for capturing in one accessible volume. The Photofile series brings together the best work of the world's greatest photographers in an attractive format and at an affordable price. Handsome and collectible, the books are produced at the highest quality. Each volume contains some sixty full-page reproductions, a critical introduction, and a full bibliography. The series was awarded the first annual prize for distinguished photographic books by the International Center of Photography.
Call Number: TR820 .R52413x 2016
ISBN: 9780500411117
Publication Date: 2016

Big Oil in the United States: Industry Influence on Institutions, Policy, and Politics (eBook) by Jerry A. McBeath This book explains how and why large oil-producing corporations have affected government institutions, energy policy, and politics in the United States--and suggests how their influence can be reduced. Big oil is the leading factor in U.S. energy politics today; the largest oil-producing companies also constitute a formidable force and interest group in American politics. This book examines why oil is so important and how the prominence of huge corporations--often working in the absence of countervailing forces--has affected government institutions, policy (with a focus on energy policy), and politics in the United States. Analyzing big oil's influence on political outcomes, particularly through campaign contributions and lobbying, this book shows how strong corporate power affects political participation. The book documents how the influence of big oil flows in all directions, intricately connecting U.S. policies at all levels--foreign policy, federal, state, and even local--regarding oil exploration, development, production, and transportation. Readers will come away with a clear understanding of how these multi-tiered relationships between oil corporations and governments work to the advantage of corporations--and to the disadvantage of states and the citizens they represent. Focuses on big oil's impact on U.S. government policy--regulatory, environmental, and fiscal--and analyzes big oil's political influence through campaign contributions and lobbying Proposes methods that could be employed to reduce big oil's influence over energy policy Presents current information relevant to university-level courses in energy politics, public policy, and state or local politics and policy as well as to practitioners such as government regulators, business persons, and NGO representatives
ISBN: 9781440837425
Oil Culture (eBook) by Ross Barrett
Photography and Landscape (eBook) by Rod Giblett; Juha Tolonen With a focus on the settler societies of the United States and Australia, Photography and Landscape is a new critical account of landscape photography created through a unique collaboration between a photography writer and a landscape photographer. Beginning with the frontier days of the American West, the subsequent century-long popularity of landscape photography is exemplified by images from Carleton Watkins to Ansel Adams, the New Topographics to Richard Misrach, all of whose works are considered here. Along with discussions of other contemporary photographers, this extensively illustrated volume demonstrates the influence of settler societies on landscape photography, in which skilled photographers captured the fascination with and the appeal of the land and its expanse.             The latest installment in Intellect's Critical Photography series, Photography and Landscape is a visually striking introduction to one of the most important modes of photography.
ISBN: 9781841504728
Burtynsky: Oil by Marcus Schubert (Editor) In 1997 I had what I refer to as my oil epiphany. It occurred to me that the vast, human-altered landscapes that I pursued and photographed for over twenty years were only made possible by the discovery of oil and the mechanical advantage of the internal combustion engine. It was then that I began the oil project. Over the next ten years I researched and photographed the largest oil fields I could find. I went on to make images of refineries, freeway interchanges, automobile plants and the scrap industry that results from the recycling of cars. Then I began to look at the culture of oil, the motor culture, where masses of people congregate around vehicles, with vehicle events as the main attraction. These images can be seen as notations by one artist contemplating the world as it is made possible through this vital energy resource and the cumulative effects of industrial evolution. Edward Burtynsky
Call Number: TR647 .B876 2014
ISBN: 9783865219435
Publication Date: 2014
Manufactured Landscapes: the Photographs of Edward Burtynsky by Lori Pauli Over the past twenty-five years, the internationally renowned Canadian photographer Edward Burtynsky has been an explorer of unfamiliar places where human activity has reshaped the surface of the land. His astonishing large-scale color photographs of the landscapes of mining, quarrying, railcutting, recycling, oil refining, and shipbreaking uncover a stark, almost sublime beauty in the residue of industrial "progress." The implicit social and environmental upheavals that underlie these images make them powerful emblems of our times. This handsome catalogue of the first major retrospective of Burtynsky's work features essays by Lori Pauli, Kenneth Baker, and Mark Haworth-Booth, as well as a wide-ranging interview with the artist by Michael Torosian. The book includes sixty-four color plates.
Call Number: TR647 .B876 2003
Edward Burtynsky: Essential Elements by Edward Burtynsky; William A. Ewing; Joshua Schuster Edward Burtynsky (b. 1955) is one of a generation of photographers who seek to portray the visible outcomes of a globalized economy and humankind's impact on environments around the world. He has achieved global recognition with his large-scale photographs and project-based monographs, such as Quarries, Oil, and Water, all of which have resulted in popular touring exhibitions and, in the case of Water, a feature-length documentary film entitled Watermark. However, while Burtynsky's global standing is without question, no comprehensive retrospective of his career to date exists.Edited and curated by William A. Ewing, Edward Burtynsky: Essential Elements provides an overview of Burtynsky's work across four decades, including 140 photographs of both iconic and previously unpublished images. It conceives of Burtynsky's oeuvre as five free-flowing sections that provide a sense of both his visual language and his exploration of the dilemmas at the heart of our globalized world. Each of the five sections is interleaved with a selection of texts from previous publications and articles on Burtynsky that work in concert with the photographs to provide a complete understanding of Burtynsky's view of the world.With an introduction by William A. Ewing and an essay by Joshua Schuster, this book provides both an entirely new way of seeing Burtynsky's work.
Call Number: TR647 B876 2016
ISBN: 9780500544617
Publication Date: 2016

The Atomic Bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki (eBook) by Sylvia Engdahl This volume provides a brief overview of the major factors that contributed to the dropping of atomic bombs on the Japanese cities of Hiroshima and Nagasaki. While this volume offers a solid background, it also offers something readers will never forget; compelling first hand accounts of the event. Readers will hear from a Japanese peace activist who was eight years old at the time Hiroshima was bombed. She tells how she and her family emerged from the rubble of their collapsed house, about the hardships that followed, and how she later became ill with radiation sickness. Essays are compiled from a variety of sources and are carefully edited and introduced to provide context for readers unfamiliar with this event.
The Unfinished Atomic Bomb: Shadows and Reflections (eBook) by David Lowe, Peter J. Kuznick,et al. In its diversity of perspectives, The Unfinished Atomic Bomb: Shadows and Reflections is testament to the ways in which contemplations of the A-bomb are endlessly shifting, rarely fixed on the same point or perspective. The compilation of this book is significant in this regard, offering Japanese, American, Australian, and European perspectives. In doing so, the essays here represent a complex series of interpretations of the bombing of Hiroshima, and its implications both for history, and for the present day. From Kuznick's extensive biographical account of the Hiroshima bomb pilot, Paul Tibbets, and contentious questions about the moral and strategic efficacy of dropping the A-bomb and how that has resonated through time, to Jacobs' reflections on the different ways in which Hiroshima and its memorialization are experienced today, each chapter considers how this moment in time emerges, persistently, in public and cultural consciousness. The discussions here are often difficult, sometimes controversial, and at times oppositional, reflecting the characteristics of A-bomb scholarship more broadly. The aim is to explore the various ways in which Hiroshima is remembered, but also to consider the ongoing legacy and impact of atomic warfare, the reverberations of which remain powerfully felt.
ISBN: 9781498550208
Five Days in August: How World War II Became a Nuclear War (eBook) by Michael D. Gordin Most Americans believe that the Second World War ended because the two atomic bombs dropped on Japan forced it to surrender. Five Days in August boldly presents a different interpretation: that the military did not clearly understand the atomic bomb's revolutionary strategic potential, that the Allies were almost as stunned by the surrender as the Japanese were by the attack, and that not only had experts planned and fully anticipated the need for a third bomb, they were skeptical about whether the atomic bomb would work at all. With these ideas, Michael Gordin reorients the historical and contemporary conversation about the A-bomb and World War II. Five Days in August explores these and countless other legacies of the atomic bomb in a glaring new light. Daring and iconoclastic, it will result in far-reaching discussions about the significance of the A-bomb, about World War II, and about the moral issues they have spawned.
ISBN: 9780691168432
Hiroshima Nagasaki: the Real Story of the Atomic Bombings and Their Aftermath by Paul Ham In this harrowing history of the Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombings, Paul Ham argues against the use of nuclear weapons, drawing on extensive research and hundreds of interviews to prove that the bombings had little impact on the eventual outcome of the Pacific War. More than 100,000 people were killed instantly by the atomic bombs, mostly women, children, and the elderly. Many hundreds of thousands more succumbed to their horrific injuries later, or slowly perished of radiation-related sickness. Yet American leaders claimed the bombs were "our least abhorrent choice"--and still today most people believe they ended the Pacific War and saved millions of American and Japanese lives. In this gripping narrative, Ham demonstrates convincingly that misunderstandings and nationalist fury on both sides led to the use of the bombs. Ham also gives powerful witness to its destruction through the eyes of eighty survivors, from twelve-year-olds forced to work in war factories to wives and children who faced the holocaust alone. Hiroshima Nagasaki presents the grisly unadorned truth about the bombings, blurred for so long by postwar propaganda, and transforms our understanding of one of the defining events of the twentieth century.
Call Number: D767.25.H6 H334 2014
Nagasaki: Life After Nuclear War by Susan Southard On August 9, 1945, three days after the atomic bombing of Hiroshima, the United States dropped a second atomic bomb on Nagasaki, a small port city on Japan's southernmost island. An estimated 74,000 people died within the first five months, and another 75,000 were injured. Published on the seventieth anniversary of the bombing, Nagasaki takes readers from the morning of the bombing to the city today, telling the first-hand experiences of five survivors, all of whom were teenagers at the time of the devastation.
Call Number: D767.25.N3 S68 2015
ISBN: 9780670025626
Publication Date: 2015
Nagasaki: The Massacre of the Innocent and Unknowing by Craig Collie Using contemporary diaries and letters, mainly translated from Japanese, we follow a group of Nagasaki residents, (including several Australian POWs) from the early morning of the day of the bombing of Hiroshima to midnight on the day of the second bombing in Nagasaki.
Call Number: D767.25.N3 C66 2011
ISBN: 9781742372891
Publication Date: 2011

The Sit Room: In the Theater of War and Peace (eBook) by David Scheffer The Sit Room brings you inside the secretive Situation Room of the White House, the most important deliberative room in the world, during the early 1990s when the author was one of the policymakers who framed the Clinton Administration's policy towards the bloody Balkans War. Drawing uponnewly declassified documents and his own notes, David Scheffer, who later became America's first Ambassador-at-Large for War Crimes Issues, weaves the true story of how policy options were debated in the Sit Room among the highest national security officials. The road to a final peace deal in late1995 came at the high price of the murderous siege of Sarajevo and ethnic cleansing of mostly Bosnian Muslims from their homes and towns, including the genocide of Srebrenica's men and teenage boys.The Sit Room reveals the behind-the-scenes story about how American policy evolved - often futilely - to try to stop an intractable war and its shocking atrocities. Main actors in the Sit Room include: the assertive Ambassador to the United Nations, Madeleine Albright; the State Department's acenegotiator, Richard Holbrooke; the cerebral National Security Adviser, Tony Lake; the immigrant Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, John Shalikashvili; the bulldog Deputy National Security Adviser, Sandy Berger; and White House moralist, David Gergen. For almost three years, the Sit Room waslittered with shattered proposals to end the war-until armed force backed up diplomacy to compel a fragile peace deal. The Sit Room reveals authentic policy-making at the highest levels, with a unique journey into the arena of war and peace where spirited debate guided America's foreignpolicy.
ISBN: 9780190860639
Covering Bin Laden: Global Media and the World's Most Wanted Man (eBook) by Susan Jeffords; Fahed Al-Sumait Starting in 2001, much of the world media used the image of Osama bin Laden as a shorthand for terrorism. Bin Laden himself considered media manipulation on a par with military, political, and ideological tools, and intentionally used interviews, taped speeches, and distributed statements to further al-Qaida's ends. nbsp; In Covering Bin Laden, editors Susan Jeffords and Fahed Yahya Al-Sumait collect perspectives from global scholars exploring a startling premise: that media depictions of Bin Laden not only diverge but often contradict each other, depending on the media provider and format, the place in which the depiction is presented, and the viewer's political and cultural background. The contributors analyze the representations of the many Bin Ladens, ranging from Al Jazeera broadcasts to video games. They examine the media's dominant role in shaping our understanding of terrorists and why/how they should be feared, and they engage with the ways the mosaic of Bin Laden images and narratives have influenced policies and actions around the world. nbsp; Contributors include Fahed Al-Sumait, Saranaz Barforoush, Aditi Bhatia, Purnima Bose, Ryan Croken, Simon Ferrari, Andrew Hill, Richard Jackson, Susan Jeffords, Joanna Margueritte-Giecewicz, Noha Mellor, Susan Moeller, Brigitte Nacos, Courtney C. Radsch, and Alexander Spencer.
ISBN: 9780252096822
Inside the Situation Room: How a Photograph Showed America Defeating Osama bin by Dan Elish On-point historical photographs combined with strong narration bring the story of the raid that captured bin Laden to life. Kids will feel as though they are in the room with President Barack Obama, Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, and the others in the cabinet who called for and monitored the raid. Primary source quotations make the event feel immediate, and photographs by the White House photographer add to the immediacy, and the understanding of the risks and dangers posed by the ultimately successful mission.
ISBN: 9780756558796
The Assassination of Bin Laden by Julia Garbus This compelling book dives into the historical background of the raid that killed Osama Bin Laden. This volume discusses the controversies related to the assassination, including those surrounding the SEALS raid. The last chapter gives readers a chance to see this event up close and personal, by presenting compelling first-person narratives. Readers will hear how the wives of Bin Laden describe the raid. They will read Graeme Green's analysis of a local who was Tweeting the raid, live. Barack Obama recounts the Bin Laden Situation Room, one year after the event.
Call Number: HV6430.B55 A88 2015
The Finish: the Killing of Osama Bin Laden by Mark Bowden From Mark Bowden, the preeminent chronicler of our military and special forces, comesThe Finish, a gripping account of the hunt for Osama bin Laden. With access to key sources, Bowden takes us inside the rooms where decisions were made and on the ground where the action unfolded. After masterminding the attacks of September 11, 2001, Osama bin Laden managed to vanish. Over the next ten years, as Bowden shows, America found that its war with al Qaeda--a scattered group of individuals who were almost impossible to track--demanded an innovative approach. Step by step, Bowden describes the development of a new tactical strategy to fight this war--the fusion of intel from various agencies and on-the-ground special ops. After thousands of special forces missions in Iraq and Afghanistan, the right weapon to go after bin Laden had finally evolved. By Spring 2011, intelligence pointed to a compound in Abbottabad; it was estimated that there was a 50/50 chance that Osama was there. Bowden shows how three strategies were mooted: a drone strike, a precision bombing, or an assault by Navy SEALs. In the end, the President had to make the final decision. It was time for the finish.
Call Number: HV6430.B55 B69x 2012
Kill or Capture: the War on Terror and the Soul of the Obama Presidency by Daniel Klaidman "[An] important book." -- Steve Coll, The New Yorker   "Klaidman . . . [was] clearly given extraordinary access to key players in the administration . . . Provide[s] scintillating details." -- Washington Post How has President Obama waged the war on terror? As lawyer-in-chief, he promised to close the Guant#65533;namo Bay detention camp and engaged his inner circle in wrenching debates over the price of liberty and security. As commander-in-chief, he has become a decisive and lethal warrior, dealing out drone strikes and death sentences to suspected terrorists around the world. Daniel Klaidman reveals Obama's struggle to balance high-minded idealism and hard-headed politics as it plays out behind closed doors from the Oval Office and the Justice Department to the Situation Room and the CIA. Based on hundreds of interviews with men and women throughout the White House and the national security establishment, Kill or Capture is a startling new portrait of our forty-fourth president. "A fascinating book . . . Lays bare the human dimension of the wrenching national security decisions that have to be made." -- Tina Brown, NPR
Call Number: HV6432 .K56 2013
Obama: an Intimate Portrait by Pete Souza Relive the extraordinary Presidency of Barack Obama through White House photographer Pete Souza's behind-the-scenes images and stories in this #1 New York Times bestseller -- with a foreword from the President himself. During Barack Obama's two terms, Pete Souza was with the President during more crucial moments than anyone else -- and he photographed them all. Souza captured nearly two million photographs of President Obama, in moments highly classified and disarmingly candid. Obama: An Intimate Portrait reproduces more than 300 of Souza's most iconic photographs with fine-art print quality in an oversize collectible format. Together they document the most consequential hours of the Presidency -- including the historic image of President Obama and his advisors in the Situation Room during the bin Laden mission -- alongside unguarded moments with the President's family, his encounters with children, interactions with world leaders and cultural figures, and more. Souza's photographs, with the behind-the-scenes captions and stories that accompany them, communicate the pace and power of our nation's highest office. They also reveal the spirit of the extraordinary man who became our President. We see President Obama lead our nation through monumental challenges, comfort us in calamity and loss, share in hard-won victories, and set a singular example to "be kind and be useful," as he would instruct his daughters. This book puts you in the White House with President Obama, and is a treasured record of a landmark era in American history.
Call Number: E908 .S68 2017
ISBN: 9780316512589

Rocket Men: The Daring Odyssey of Apollo 8 and the Astronauts Who Made Man's First Journey to the Moon (eBook) by Robert Kurson NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The riveting inside story of three heroic astronauts who took on the challenge of mankind's historic first mission to the Moon, from the bestselling author of Shadow Divers. "Robert Kurson tells the tale of Apollo 8 with novelistic detail and immediacy."--Andy Weir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Martian and Artemis NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY FORBES AND THE ECONOMIST By August 1968, the American space program was in danger of failing in its two most important objectives: to land a man on the Moon by President Kennedy's end-of-decade deadline, and to triumph over the Soviets in space. With its back against the wall, NASA made an almost unimaginable leap: It would scrap its usual methodical approach and risk everything on a sudden launch, sending the first men in history to the Moon--in just four months. And it would all happen at Christmas. In a year of historic violence and discord--the Tet Offensive, the assassinations of Martin Luther King, Jr., and Robert Kennedy, the riots at the Democratic National Convention in Chicago--the Apollo 8 mission would be the boldest, riskiest test of America's greatness under pressure. In this gripping insider account, Robert Kurson puts the focus on the three astronauts and their families: the commander, Frank Borman, a conflicted man on his final mission; idealistic Jim Lovell, who'd dreamed since boyhood of riding a rocket to the Moon; and Bill Anders, a young nuclear engineer and hotshot fighter pilot making his first space flight. Drawn from hundreds of hours of one-on-one interviews with the astronauts, their loved ones, NASA personnel, and myriad experts, and filled with vivid and unforgettable detail, Rocket Men is the definitive account of one of America's finest hours. In this real-life thriller, Kurson reveals the epic dangers involved, and the singular bravery it took, for mankind to leave Earth for the first time--and arrive at a new world. Praise for Rocket Men "In 1968 we sent men to the Moon. They didn't leave boot prints, but it was the first time humans ever left Earth for another destination. That mission was Apollo 8. And Rocket Men, under Robert Kurson's compelling narrative, is that under-told story."--Neil deGrasse Tyson "Rocket Men is a riveting introduction to the [Apollo 8] flight. . . . Kurson details the mission in crisp, suspenseful scenes. . . . [A] gripping book."--The New York Times Book Review
ISBN: 9780812988703
Breakthrough! 100 Astronomical Images That Changed the World (eBook) by Robert Gendler; Robert Jay GaBany This unique volume by two renowned astrophotographers unveils the science and history behind 100 of the most significant astronomical images of all time. The authors have carefully selected their list of images from across time and technology to bring to the reader the most relevant photographic images spanning all eras of modern astronomical history. Based on scientific evidence today we have a basic notion of how Earth and the universe came to be. The road to this knowledge was paved with 175 years of astronomical images acquired by the coupling of two revolutionary technologies - the camera and telescope. With ingenuity and determination humankind would quickly embrace these technologies to tell the story of the cosmos and unravel its mysteries. This book presents in pictures and words a photographic chronology of our aspiration to understand the universe. From the first fledgling attempts to photograph the Moon, planets, and stars to the marvels of orbiting observatories that record the cosmos at energies beyond the range of human vision, astronomers have always relied on images to "break through" to the next level of understanding. A subset of these breakthrough images has profound significance in documenting some of the greatest milestones in modern astronomy.
ISBN: 9783319209722
Where No Man Has Gone Before: A History of NASA's Apollo Lunar Expeditions (eBook) by William David Compton This official NASA history chronicles the Apollo astronauts' activities on the lunar surface, tracing the behind-the-scenes conflicts and cooperation between the space agency's scientists and engineers. The first half of the book concerns the preparations for the Moon landings, and the second half documents the flights that followed Apollo 11. 1989 edition.
ISBN: 9780486478883
Earthrise: How Man First Saw the Earth by Robert Poole Earthrise tells the remarkable story of the first photographs of Earth from space and the totally unexpected impact of those images. The Apollo “Earthrise” and “Blue Marble” photographs were beamed across the world some forty years ago. They had an astounding effect, Robert Poole explains, and in fact transformed thinking about the Earth and its environment in a way that echoed throughout religion, culture, and science. Gazing upon our whole planet for the first time, we saw ourselves and our place in the universe with new clarity. Poole delves into new areas of research and looks at familiar history from fresh perspectives. With intriguing anecdotes and wonderful pictures, he examines afresh the politics of the Apollo missions, the challenges of whole Earth photography, and the story of the behind-the-scenes struggles to get photographs of the Earth put into mission plans. He traces the history of imagined visions of Earth from space and explores what happened when imagination met reality. The photographs of Earth represented a turning point, Poole contends. In their wake, Earth Day was inaugurated, the environmental movement took off, and the first space age ended. People turned their focus back toward Earth, toward the precious and fragile planet we call home.
Call Number: QB637 .P66 2008
Apollo 8: the Thrilling Story of the First Mission to the Moon by Jeffrey Kluger In August 1968, NASA made a bold decision: in just sixteen weeks, the United States would launch humankind's first flight to the moon. Only the year before, three astronauts had burned to death in their spacecraft, and since then the Apollo program had suffered one setback after another. Meanwhile, the Russians were winning the space race, the Cold War was getting hotter by the month, and President Kennedy's promise to put a man on the moon by the end of the decade seemed sure to be broken. But when Frank Borman, Jim Lovell and Bill Anders were summoned to a secret meeting and told of the dangerous mission, they instantly signed on.Apollo 8 takes us from Mission Control to the astronaut's homes, and the race to prepare an untested rocket for an unprecedented journey paves the way for the hair-raising trip to the moon. And when the mission is over-after the first view of the far side of the moon, the first earth-rise, and the first re-entry through the earth's atmosphere following a flight to deep space-the impossible dream of walking on the moon suddenly seems within reach.The full story of Apollo 8 has never been told, and only Jeffrey Kluger-Jim Lovell's co-author on their bestselling book about Apollo 13-can do it justice. Here is the tale of a mission that was both a calculated risk and a wild crapshoot, a stirring account of how three American heroes forever changed our view of the home planet.
Call Number: TL789.8.U6 A54325 2017

Silent Gesture: Autobiography of Tommie Smith (eBook) by Tommie Smith; David Steele n 1968, Tommie Smith and his teammate John Carlos won the gold and silver medals, respectively, for the 200 meter dash.  Receiving their medals on the dais, they raised their fists and froze a moment in time that will forever be remembered as a powerful day of protest.  In this, his autobiography, Smith tells the story of that moment, and of his life before and after it, to explain what that moment meant to him.  In Silent Gesture, Smith recounts his life before and after the 1968 Olympics: his life-long commitment to athletics, education, and human rights.  He dispels some of the myths surrounding his and Carlos' act on the dais -- contrary to legend, Smith wasn't a member of the Black Panthers, but a member of the US Olympic Project for Human Rights -- and describes in detail the planning and risks involved in his protest.  Smith also details his many years after Mexico City of devotion to human rights, athletics, and education.  A unique resource for anyone concerned with international sports, history, and the African American experience, Silent Gesture contributes a complete picture of one of the most famous moments in sports history, and of a man whose actions always matched his words.
Powerful Moments in Sports: The Most Significant Sporting Events in American History (eBook) by Martin Gitlin Jesse Owens wins four gold medals at the 1936 Olympics. Billie Jean King takes on Bobby Riggs in the Battle of the Sexes. Title IX is passed. Some moments in sports--whether they take place on a track, on a tennis court, or in a courtroom--transcend the event itself. Some have helped America live out its creed that all men are created equal. Others have pushed the nation toward gender equality. Others have changed individual sports to such a degree that they have transformed society. Powerful Moments in Sports: The Most Significant Sporting Events in American History encompasses more than a single player, team, or game. This book looks at how a particular event revolutionized a sport, how a contest of speed inspired a nation, or even how a humble victory affected the world. Martin Gitlin considers such impactful moments as Jackie Robinson's integration of Major League Baseball, Gertrude Ederle becoming the first female to swim the English Channel--and shattering the times of five men who had accomplished the feat before her--and the underdog US hockey team defeating the Soviets at the 1980 Olympics. The twenty events featured in this book had profound social, political, and cultural importance and inspired athletes and spectators alike. Spanning multiple decades, Powerful Moments in Sports reveals the tremendous impact athletes have had on America--and the world--over the years. Covering football, baseball, hockey, basketball, track and field, boxing, and more, this book will fascinate and enlighten sports fans, historians, and those interested in the impact of athletic endeavors on culture and society.
ISBN: 9781442264953
Racism and the Olympics (eBook) by Robert G. Weisbord Globally, billions of fans feverishly focus on the summer and winter Olympics. In theory, international fraternalism is boosted by these "friendly competitions," but often national rivalries eclipse the theoretical amity. How the Olympics have dealt with racism and discrimination over the years offers a window to better understanding these dynamics. Since their revival in 1896, the modern Olympics were periodically agitated by political and moral conundrums. Racial tensions, the topic of this volume, reached their apex under the polarizing presidency of Avery Brundage. Race in sports cannot be disentangled from societal problems, nor can race or sports be fully understood separately. Racial conflict must be contextualized. Racism and the Olympics explores the racial landscape against which a number of major disputes evolved. The book covers various topics and events in history that portray discrimination within Olympic games, such as the Nazi games of 1936, the black American protest on the victory stand in Mexico City's Olympics, as well as international political forces that removed South Africa and Rhodesia from the Olympics. Robert G. Weisbord considers the role of international politics and the criteria that should be used to determine nations that are selected to take part in and serve as venues for the Olympic Games.
From Jack Johnson to Lebron James: Sports, Media, and the Color Line (eBook) by Chris Lamb The campaign for racial equality in sports has both reflected and affected the campaign for racial equality in the United States. Some of the most significant and publicized stories in this campaign in the twentieth century have happened in sports, including, of course, Jackie Robinson in baseball; Jesse Owens, Tommie Smith, and John Carlos in track; Arthur Ashe in tennis; and Jack Johnson, Joe Louis, and Muhammad Ali in boxing. Long after the full integration of college and professional athletics, race continues to play a major role in sports. Not long ago, sportswriters and sportscasters ignored racial issues. They now contribute to the public's evolving racial attitudes on issues both on and off the field, ranging from integration to self-determination to masculinity. From Jack Johnson to LeBron James examines the intersection of sports, race, and the media in the twentieth century and beyond. The essays are linked by a number of questions, including: How did the black and white media differ in content and context in their reporting of these stories? How did the media acknowledge race in their stories? Did the media recognize these stories as historically significant? Considering how media coverage has evolved over the years, the essays begin with the racially charged reporting of Jack Johnson's reign as heavyweight champion and carry up to the present, covering the media narratives surrounding the Michael Vick dogfighting case in a supposedly post-racial era and the media's handling of LeBron James's announcement to leave Cleveland for Miami.
ISBN: 9780803285262
Black Power Salute: How a Photograph Captured a Political Protest by Danielle Smith-Llera Two American athletes made history at the 1968 Summer Olympics, but not on the track. They staged a silent protest against racial injustice. Tommie Smith and John Carlos, gold and bronze medalists in the 200-meter sprint, stood with heads bowed and black-gloved fists raised as the national anthem played during the medal ceremony. The Australian silver medalist wore a human rights badge in support. All three would pay a heavy price for their activism. A Life magazine photograph seen by millions would ensure that the silent protest was remembered, and eventually admired, as a symbol of the battle for equality and civil rights.
Call Number: GV722 1968 .S65 2017
ISBN: 9780756555269
Publication Date: 2017
African American Icons of Sport: Triumph, Courage, and Excellence by Matthew C. Whitaker This title offers an examination of African Americans in sports, from a variety of perspectives and through a lively range of rhetoric styles, and illuminates the history of highly successful and influential individuals, athletes and teams who have transcended mere celebrity to come to represent a given Zeitgeist to a sizable part of the world. It also explores the history and lives of complex, multi-layered personages and groups. Finally, it examines the extent to which modern mass media and popular culture have contributed greatly to the rise, and sometimes fall, of the these powerful symbols of athletic, individual, and group excellence.
Call Number: GV697.A1 A353 2008