Article Databases
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSelect "Choose Databases" (above the search box) to add additional collections of resources. Magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowJournals from scholarly publishers; includes Canadian Public Policy.
-
ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowSearch the most recent global news content, as well as archives stretching back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Large collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. (NVCC)
For editorials and commentary: on the search page use the "Document Type" dropdown.
Limit Your Results
After your find a list of articles in one of the databases, you can limit your results by date and by source type.
Search Tips
Select just the most important words related to your topic.
Put the word AND between each new word or idea; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
microplastic AND ocean
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases:
"united nations" AND kenya
Use the asterisk (*) to truncate a word; this tells the database to look for all words that have the same base. In the example below, search results would include elect, elected, elects, election....
"united nations"AND kenya AND elect*
Use synonyms or related terms:
(microplastic OR microbeads) AND (ocean OR marine)
If the complete text of the article is not available...
Check if we have that journal or magazine in a different library database:
-
Find Journal or Magazine by TitleType in the title of the magazine or journal you're looking for (e.g., Canadian Public Policy).