Articles
Through the library, you have access to over 120 databases filled with newspaper articles, academic articles, magazine articles, court cases, book reviews, and more.
Some of the key databases for locating relevant sources for your topics in this class are located below.
You may also locate articles by going to Databases by Subject and looking under the relevant category(ies) for your research topic.
Human Growth and Development & Childhood Education Databases
- Child Development & Adolescent Studies (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIncludes references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. (VIVA)
- Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete covers all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. It provides indexing for over 1,800 journals, as well as full-text for over 900 journals, 81 books, and numerous education-related conference papers. (VIVA) - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and full-text journal articles. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. (VIVA)
Literature Databases
- Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text biographies and critical analyses of writers and their work from a variety of periods and disciplines. (VIVA) - Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowContains essays and criticism from encyclopedias and books examining the lives of great authors and their works throughout history. Also includes full-length videos of classic plays, information on literary characters, and more. (NVCC)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
A Few Articles and Other Sources that Discuss "I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings" and Text-Related Themes
- How to Write About I Know Why the Caged Bird SingsA summary of the works's main ideas, themes, and characters, with discussion on how to approach writing about a literary work.
- I Know Why the Caged Bird SingsFrom the "Critical Companion to Maya Angelou"
- Racial Protest, Identity, Words, and Form in Maya Angelou's I Know Why the Caged Bird SingsPeer-reviewed Critical Essay
- Funeral imagery in Maya Angelou's I Know Why the Caged Bird SingsPeer-reviewed Critical Essay
- "Ain't I a Woman": Exploring Femininities in Diaspora in Angelou's I Know Why the Caged Bird SingsPeer-reviewed critical essay
Some Suggested Keywords to Use in the Databases
- Erickson
- self-concept OR self-esteem
- identity or selfhood or "self conception"
- puberty or adolescence
- Piaget
- parent OR parenting OR "family socialization"
- ("social development" or socialization or relationships) AND ("environmental influences" OR "environmental factors" OR "home environment")
For the Literature Databases
- "I know why the caged bird sings" AND (self-concept OR self-esteem)
- "I know why the caged bird sings" AND (puberty OR adolescence)
- "Maya Angelou" and abuse
-
"Maya Angelou" and (parent OR parenting OR "family socialization")