Magazine, Journal and Newspaper Articles
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA) - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals. (NVCC)
Scholarly, Trade and Popular Sources
|
|
Scholarly Journals |
Trade Publications (Industry Magazines) |
Popular Newspapers and Magazines |
|
Appearance (Cover) |
|
|
 Flashy |
|
Appearance (Inside) |
Black and white with few pictures |
Colorful with pictures |
Colorful with many pictures |
|
Purpose |
To report research findings and build on the academic literature |
To help professionals keep up with changes in their field (new products and trends) |
To inform, entertain and grab your interest |
|
Audience |
Researchers and professionals |
Professionals |
Regular people |
|
Author |
Researchers, usually associated with a university; can usually find author credentials on the first page or in a footnote. |
Professionals in a field (dentists, law enforcement officers and HVAC professionals) |
Journalists; search in the database for the author's name to see what other articles s/he has written.
|
|
Title |
Sounds “academic” and usually includes the word “journal” - New England Journal of Medicine - Journal of Clinical Child Psychology |
Sounds “professional”. May include the word “journal” in the title but does not look like a journal. - Massage Today - Community College Journal - Foodservice Equipment & Supplies |
Short title that usually sounds general or “fun”. - New York Times (newspaper) - Washington Post (newspaper) - People (magazine) - Time (magazine) |
|
Advertisements |
None |
Industry-specific ads (kitchen equipment, massage tables and dental hygiene instruments) |
Flashy ads for products that would interest most people (cars, food and clothes) |
|
Editing Process |
Peer Review |
Basic editing |
Basic editing |
|
Pros |
Reliable, high-quality academic research |
Easier to read and more current than scholarly journals |
Newspapers are printed daily and magazines usually monthly |
|
Cons |
Peer review process takes time, so articles may take months to publish |
Written by professionals in the field but does not go through an extensive editing process |
Could include opinions. Some newspapers and magazines are better than others (Wall Street Journal vs. National Enquirer) |
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-4 words related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new word or idea; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
icann AND governance
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words right next to each other.
"domain names" AND governance
Use the asterisk (*) to truncate a word; this tells the database to look for all words that have the same base. In the example below, search results would include "governance" and "governing."
"domain names" AND govern*
icann AND govern* AND international
Use synonyms and related terms:
"identity theft" AND e-commerce
"identity theft" AND electronic commerce
"identity theft" AND online retail*
"identity theft" AND online shopping
Why Use a Magazine, Journal or Newspaper Article?
Magazines, journals and newspapers:
- Provide detailed information about a specific aspect of a topic.
- Report on events, issues or scholarly research.
- Are good sources for current or recent information.
Magazines, journals and newspapers typically do NOT provide a summary or overview of a topic.
Learn More About a Particular Magazine, Journal or Newspaper
Ulrich's provides basic information about magazines, journals and newspapers, including a description, intended audience, and sometimes reviews.
Type in the title of the periodical your article is from (e.g., New York Times, Journal of Family Communication, Sports Illustrated)
- UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new windowInformation on selected periodicals and serials published in the United States and throughout the world. (VIVA)