How to Use Reference Books
An encyclopedia is a type of reference book. These are great resources for gathering background information on your topic, as well as for:
- Defining important vocabulary words related to your topic,
- Finding a basic overview and main issues related to your topic, and
- Finding references to additional resources.
Online Encyclopedias and Background Information
Below are a few places you can find definitions and encyclopedia articles; from off campus you will have to login with your myNOVA username and password.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 reference books on a variety of topics. (NVCC)
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowFully-searchable collection of authoritative encyclopedia articles. (NVCC)
- AtoZ: World Culture This link opens in a new windowA wealth of reference information about the nations of the world. Includes information about demographics, climate, culture and travel. (NVCC)
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Essays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
Encyclopedia Search Tips
Since encyclopedia articles focus on basic, general information about a topic, what you type in the search box should also be general:
YES: "social media"
NO: How does social media affect anxiety among teens and adults?
YES: "video games"
NO: How do video games affect young adult interpersonal relationships?