How to Use Reference Books
An encyclopedia is a type of reference book. These are great resources for gathering background information on your topic, as well as for:
- Defining important vocabulary words related to your topic,
- Finding a basic overview and main issues related to your topic, and
- Finding references to additional resources.
Encyclopedia Search Tips
Since encyclopedia articles focus on basic, general information about a topic, what you type in the search box should also be general:
- YES: "pandemics"
- YES: "pandemics" and "preparation"
- NO: How prepared was the United States for the COVID-19 pandemic?
Background Information Databases
Below are a few good databases for finding background information such as reports on topics, definitions and encyclopedia articles. In addition, Opposing Viewpoints can connect you with relevant newspaper articles.
Credo Reference also includes a great Mindmap tool to help you brainstorm topic ideas.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Essays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS) - Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on controversial issues in the news. (VCCS)
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 reference books on a variety of topics. (NVCC)
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowMore than 100 Oxford University Press dictionaries and reference books. (VIVA)
