Visible Body
-
Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology This link opens in a new windowA 3D visualization and learning tool used to explore the systems of the human body. It contains more than 500 3D model sets with directed dissections and 150+ animations that visually communicate complex physiology. It includes 12 units: cells and tissues, integumentary, skeleton and joints, muscle types, nervous, endocrine, circulatory, lymphatic, respiratory, digestive, urinary, and reproductive. (NVCC)
Articles
The library has dozens of science databases. For anatomy and physiology, we recommend these:
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowThe world’s pre-eminent health sciences database. A free resource that allows you to search millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. (VIVA)
-
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Over 1400 full text journals representing many medical disciplines. The most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature. Search options include peer-reviewed journal articles, evidence-based care plans, quick lessons, patient teaching materials, case studies, continuing education units (CEU), and more. (VCCS)
-
Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It includes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases. (VIVA)
More Databases
Learning Outcomes
By the end of this session, you should be able to:
-
Design an effective search strategy to make research easier and more productive.
-
Navigate library resources to find relevant books, articles, and information.
-
Evaluate the quality of the information you find.
-
Know when and how to cite sources.