Encyclopedias & Reference
These encyclopedia collections cover a wide range of topics:
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
These encyclopedia collections each focus on a specific topic or subject:
- Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowBiographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout world history; from encyclopedias and news articles. (NVCC)
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowOver 8,000 articles by top scholars that focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American history and culture. Also includes images and primary sources. (NVCC)
- Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new windowA collection of reference articles on pop culture in America in the 20th century. Browse by decade. (NVCC)
- Oxford Art Online - Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window30,000 signed articles and images on visual arts, over 6,000 subject entries and 20,000 biographies, and 7,000 searchable images. This resource also includes the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. (NVCC)
- Salem Press Health This link opens in a new windowA full-text database that provides access to eBook versions of Salem Health print titles that are owned at NOVA Libraries. (NVCC)
- U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowIncludes U.S. History reference articles, periodical articles, images, and primary documents. (NVCC)
- World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowIncludes world history reference articles, periodical articles, historical maps, primary documents, audio and video. (NVCC)
- AtoZ: The USA This link opens in a new windowA wealth of reference information about all fifty U.S. states. Includes information about demographics, crime, the economy, history, maps and more. (NVCC)
- AtoZ: World Culture This link opens in a new windowA wealth of reference information about the nations of the world. Includes information about demographics, climate, culture and travel. (NVCC)
Why to Use Encyclopedia Articles
|
An encyclopedia is a type of reference book. Use a reference book to:
|