Recommended Article Databases
These databases are included in the Library Catalog "Everything" search, but by using the individual databases you will get more powerful search and filtering options.
- EBSCOhost – All Databases This link opens in a new windowMagazines, journals, and newspapers in many areas of academic study, including health, ethics, psychology, business, and alternative medicine.
- ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowMagazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, and New York Times
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Offers full text peer-reviewed nursing and allied health journals, magazines, and newsletters, and multimedia resources such as audio files and videos of medical procedures and live surgeries. (NVCC)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-4 words related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new word or idea; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
obesity AND diabetes
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words right next to each other.
"childhood obesity" AND diabetes
Use synonyms and related terms:
treatment AND "gluten intolerance"
treatment AND "celiac disease"
Use the database's filters:
Full Text
Source Type
Publication Date
Look at the number of results.
Too Many: Add keywords or be more specific.
Too Few: Change keywords or make them more broad.
Ask for help!
Librarians are happy to help!