Databases
- Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It includes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases. This collection is a part of the SciTech Premium Collection. (VIVA)
- Environment Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers the areas of ecosystem ecology, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. The database contains full-text for more than 600 journals and 100 books and indexes over 1,500 journals. (VIVA)
- Conservation Biology (Individual journal)Conservation Biology is the most influential and frequently cited journal in its field. The journal publishes groundbreaking papers and is instrumental in defining the key issues contributing to the science and practice of conserving Earth’s biological diversity. (from https://conbio.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/hub/journal/15231739/homepage/productinformation.html?
- Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It includes the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). This collection is a part of the SciTech Premium Collection. (VIVA)
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes e-books, encyclopedias and journal articles in the Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health and Social Sciences & Humanities fields. After doing your search, you can limit your results to just books, reference, or journals. (VIVA)
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journals & bulletins published by American Institute of Biological Sciences member societies & other closely related organizations. (VIVA)
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowSynthesizes the primary research literature in the biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. (VIVA)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
endangered species AND conservation
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"endangered species" AND laws
Use OR in between similar concepts.
(endangered OR protected) AND wildlife
Use an asterisk ( * ) to find multiple endings of one word. Using pollut* as a search term will include results that refer to pollute, pollutes, polluted, polluting, and pollution.
pollut*