Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Search the Library Catalog
Catalog/Database Search Tips
For more results than just books, click on Advanced Search or EVERYTHING. This includes books, articles, videos, and encyclopedia (reference) articles.
Use your research question or topic sentences as a starting point to identify keywords and concepts:
How does the music of Shostakovich symbolize his world at the time?
| Type AND between each concept | shostakovich AND symbolize |
| Use "quotation marks" around phrases | shostakovich AND symbolize AND "soviet union" |
| Use an asterisk (*) to get words with multiple endings (symbol* will find articles with symbolic or symbolize or symbolized) |
shostakovich AND symbol* AND "soviet union" |
| Use related terms and synonyms |
shostakovich AND symbol* AND russia |
In your list of results, use FILTERS/LIMITERS:
- Type of Source: Peer-reviewed journals, Books
- Publication Date
- Location/Availability (e.g., a campus or Full Text Online)
Top Databases
These databases are included in the Library Catalog "Everything" search, but by using the individual databases you will get more powerful search options.
- EBSCOhost – All Databases This link opens in a new windowThe main EBSCOhost landing page to browse or search multiple EBSCOhost databases at the same time.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
- Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window(Formerly Gale Fine Arts & Music Collection) covers 150 full-text journals that supports research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. (NVCC)
