How to Use Reference Books
Gathering background information from sources such as encyclopedias is an important first step in your research process. In this step, your goal is to learn more about your topic, including obtaining biographical information if applicable, and definitions and keywords.
Background sources such as encyclopedias and biographical sources are not typically the types of sources you will cite in a research paper: they are only used for learning more about your topic to better inform your research strategy
Getting Started - Resources for Background Information
Below are some key databases for identifying background information in literature. Some of these databases also contain critical essays.
- Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowBiographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout world history; from encyclopedias and news articles. (NVCC)
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowContains essays and criticism from encyclopedias and books examining the lives of great authors and their works throughout history. Also includes full-length videos of classic plays, information on literary characters, and more. (NVCC)
- Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new windowFull-text biographies and critical analyses of writers and their work from a variety of periods and disciplines. (VIVA)
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowOver 8,000 articles by top scholars that focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American history and culture. Also includes images and primary sources. (NVCC)
- Salem Press Literature This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of critical surveys of the works of over 700 authors. Also includes Masterplots, a collection of short plot summaries and critical evaluations of major works of literature. (NVCC)
Encyclopedia Search Tips
Search using broad terms since encyclopedia articles focus on basic, general information about a topic.
- Yes: "Toni Morison"
- Yes: Symbolism
- No: How does Toni Morrison use color as a symbol in Beloved?
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words) as above in the first example. This tells the database to look for that exact phrase.