Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Databases
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to Databases by Subject and look under the categories English (ENG) or Administration of Justice & Paralegal (ADJ, LGL) to find a list of relevant databases. You can also perform a search in the databases below.
- Remember not to type sentences in the search box. Search by keyword, court case, person of interest, time period, or event.
- Look for additional keywords or subjects offered. Also make sure you look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
- Log in with your MyNOVA username and password when prompted.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA) - APA PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycArticles, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. (VIVA)
- Criminal Justice Journals (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowJournal articles covering law and public affairs. (VCCS)
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business news, company and financial information; magazines and newspapers, newswires. From Dow Jones Reuters. (VIVA) - Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on controversial issues in the news. (VCCS)
- MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference books, magazines, journals, newspapers and primary documents. Includes an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. Covers a variety of topics. (VIVA) - Military & Government Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current news for all branches of the military, from periodicals, academic journals and other related content. Content also includes country reports and relevant government documents. (VIVA) - Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS) - ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and full-text journal articles. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. (VIVA) - Westlaw Campus Research (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Westlaw Campus Research provides access to a wealth of U.S. law sources. Includes access to journals and law reviews, cases, statutes, regulations, and legislative materials. Searchable by keyword, legal citation and document title. Includes KeyCite for updating. (NVCC)
Why can't I just use Google?
This video by Yavapai College Library in Prescott, Arizona demonstrates the different types of information found in Google versus library databases.
Click the 
icon located in the bottom right corner to watch the video in fullscreen mode.