Articles
The best way to locate current academic articles is through the library databases.
Some of the key databases for locating literary criticism are located directly below.
Below that, you will find general databases, which offer sources on a broad range of topics.
You may also locate articles in subject-specific databases by going to Databases by Subject and looking under the relevant category(ies) for your research topic.
Keyword Examples
- drones AND privacy
- drones AND "artificial intelligence"
- ("artificial intelligence" OR AI OR "machine learning") AND (threat OR danger)
- "food waste" AND blockchain
- "higher education" AND (cost OR affordability)
Literary Criticism Databases
- Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text biographies and critical analyses of writers and their work from a variety of periods and disciplines. (VIVA) - Literature Criticism Online (Gale) This link opens in a new windowCollection of literary criticism, excerpted from books and journals, on poetry, short stories, drama and Shakespeare. If the article is not in a good format for reading, click on the "Download" icon to view it as a .pdf.(NVCC)
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, and others. (VIVA) - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC) - MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography covers scholarship in a broad range of Humanities disciplines related to global literatures and languages. (VIVA)
Broad Topic Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA) - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals. (NVCC) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index (1851-2014) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images. (NVCC) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877-2001) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. (NVCC)