Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Articles
The best way to locate current academic articles is through the library databases.
Some of the key databases for locating relevant sources on a broad range of topics are located below.
You may also locate articles in subject-specific databases by going to Databases by Subject and looking under the relevant category(ies) for your research topic.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowSearch the most recent global news content, as well as archives stretching back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Large collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. (NVCC)
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on controversial issues in the news. (VCCS)
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 reference books on a variety of topics. (NVCC)
Keyword Examples
- ​drones AND privacy
- drones AND "artificial intelligence"
- ("artificial intelligence" OR AI OR "machine learning") AND (threat OR danger)
- "food waste" AND blockchain
- "higher education" AND (cost OR affordability)