Research Special Need
- DynaMed This link opens in a new windowA clinical reference tool for physicians and health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics. (NVCC)
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based resource designed for point of care. Includes videos, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, patient education handouts, drug information and continuing education materials. (NVCC)
Healthcare Professions
- Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new windowIncludes information on job and industry profiles, job-hunting and workplace skills, career and industry resources, and college planning and financial aid. (NVCC)
Research Databases
- CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature- EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Over 1400 full text journals representing many medical disciplines. The most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature. Search options include peer-reviewed journal articles, evidence-based care plans, quick lessons, patient teaching materials, case studies, continuing education units (CEU), and more. (VCCS)
- Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis database offers complete coverage for top dental and oral sciences journals, an extensive collection of important full-text journals, many with no embargo. (NVCC)
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCitations and full-text journal articles. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. (VIVA)
Journal of American Dental Association
MEC Library holds 20 years of print issues of The Journal of the American Dental Association [JADA]. You can search on the JADA site for abstracts of relevant and helpful articles, then check out the full article from the Library.
Using the Search box on right side:
- Search the condition or patient population or the non-dental healthcare profession you are writing about.
- After you get results that can date back 100 years, scroll down until you see the Publication Date box on the left. Type 2010 into the From box, hit Enter on your keyboard
- Select the title of article to get the abstract (description of the article).
- When you find an article that may be helpful, you will need this information to find it in the library:
- Article title
- Month & Year of publication
- Volume and Issue numbers
- Page numbers of the article
