Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Search the Library Catalog
Library Catalog Search Tips
- For more results than just books, click on Advanced Search or EVERYTHING. This includes books, articles, videos, and encyclopedia (reference) articles.
- Select the fewest words possible to type into the search box -- just the ones most important to your topic.
What are benefits of yoga for children?
- Type AND between each new concept. For example:
children AND yoga AND benefits
- Put quotation marks (" ") around phrases. For example:
children AND yoga AND "physical strength"
children AND yoga AND "mental health"
- Use synonyms and related terms. For example:
children AND yoga AND benefits
children AND yoga AND memory
children AND yoga AND concentration
- Use filters to refine your list of results:
- Type of Source: Peer Reviewed Articles, Reference [encyclopedia] Articles, Newspaper Articles, Books, etc.
- Publication Date
- Location (e.g., a campus or Full Text Online)
Top Sources for CST 100
These databases are included in the Library Catalog "Everything" search, but by using the individual databases you will get more powerful search options.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowLarge encyclopedia collection. Articles provide overviews and summaries on a wide range of topics.
- ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowArticles from magazines and newspapers, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post; especially useful for current topics
- EBSCOhost – All Databases This link opens in a new windowThe main EBSCOhost landing page to browse or search multiple EBSCOhost databases at the same time.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
Search Tips:
- Select the fewest words possible to type into the search box -- just the ones most important to your topic.
- Type AND between each new word or idea. For example: college AND athletes AND pay